Shopping and teaching English


Advertisement
Published: March 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Gaetan and Alex just left and the apartment seems too quiet. It has been a lot of fun having them around and it has been tiring as we had quite a bit planned. I think I can speak for all three of us and declare the visit a success.

They arrived last Sunday, tired but excited. I gave them a bit of time to call Helen then it was off to the grocery store and the panderia (bakery) to buy all the essential. We also spent a few hours walking around Xela and visiting the "Grande Fiesta" near parque El Calvario. They were a hit: Gaetan being the giant and Alex the cute blond. I bet it had been quite a while since those two had walked that much. Moreover, it seems that you are always going up hill around here.

On Monday, we spent hours visiting a huge cemetery and shopping for school material and vegetables at the Democracia outdoor market. It was tiring but we found everything we needed. At supper time we went out to an Italian restaurant. Gaetan and I shared a pizza so the waiter put the pizza, the knife and two plates in front of me and I had to serve Gaetan. Weird....Also, I did not get a tip.

On Tuesday we went to the school where I teach English. The kids were duly impressed by my new helpers and I must admit that Alex did very well in Spanish and Gaetan did learn some words. We had brought the stuff we had bought and gave some to the kids. They were so happy and grateful for a tube of glue and a pencil sharpener. They worked so hard for us and they are so cute. At the end of both classes, we met with the principal and gave her the rest of the school material and the money. She had all of the teachers in the office and we received a touching "thank you"speech.

We took the chicken bus to get there and Gaetan was amused and Alex was scared.

In the afternoon, we went with an ex Spanish teacher of mine to Zunil to visit a church, a weaving cooperative (they bought gifts...) and San Simon, which you may remember, I told you looked like Michael Jackson. I know have a picture to prove it. When we got there, there was a ceremony going on where a guy shook a chicken over two women. Later on, the statue was tilted and he was given a few ounces of alcohol. A saint after my own heart. A fun time was had by all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb