A nice and quiet week


Advertisement
Published: February 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I had a nice, quiet and yet wonderful week. I was very well prepared for teaching my English class on Tuesday and the kids were great. OK, I did bribe them by buying them each "duo tangs" and cute labels but if that is what it takes for them to learn, I don't care. My grade 5 and 6 class was so well behaved and they bought me a chip at recess. How nice is that!

Helen and I changed school this week. It is a good way to spread the money around and to see other methods of teaching. It is call El Portal and it is my favorite so far. My teacher, Mariella, is the sister of the young man who taught me the 2 previous weeks. They are a talented family. My Spanish is really improving but my English and French are getting worse. Can't win them all.

On Thursday night I went to see the concert of a group called Buena Vista Social group. The music was good but the room was small and the speakers gigantic so.... I did not stay very long. On Friday, the school had a pot luck supper and we played some games (one of which we will have to try at a family party) and had a general good time.

Like I said, it was quiet but very nice. I cannot believe how friendly people are around here. Very surprising for a big city. You really cannot help but love this place.
Only a week before Gaetan and Alex visit.... Can't wait.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb