Lonely Weekend


Advertisement
Published: February 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Not going to Antigua and watching the Superbowl



Saturday: I was asked to go to Antigua with a couple of girls that work here and I politely declined citing my faithfulness to Kylie as my reason...(I hope you read this at least once, Kylie) Well, actually, I forgot that I needed to move more dirt so that we could lay some pipe on Monday and so I got to it. After work I went into town and walked around, got some cash, and left. Kensie was leaving early in the morning on Sunday so Claire had us all up for dinner in her house and we chatted and that was fun.

Sunday: I went to church in the morning. In the afternoon I went in and got some pictures of Jose Miguel since he is leaving tomorrow. I made the mistake of taking the pictures just before he was supposed to go to bed and so he got all sad when I tried to put him down and threw a fit. I then went down to Panajachel to watch the Superbowl at Pana Rock. There were a lot of Americans there and I hung out with a guy named Mustafa (SP?). He works in D.C., went to Purdue, and studied development economics in grad school. That is what I want to study so we had lots to chat about. It was fun and we both agreed that we didn't really care if the Giants won as long as the Patriots lost.

To get back to Sololá I asked a guy in a pickup if he was going and he said that he could if I would pay Q35. I said that I could pay Q25 and he gave me a face like I just slapped his mom, and then he said that Q25 was alright. I then saw him motion about 7 people to get in the back because he was going to leave. I just laughed. Apparently they sit there making it look like you are the only one going so you have to pay extra and then they get all of the money from the 7 people who were just waiting for a gringo to pay the right price to get the truck to leave. Oh well, $3 is not a bad price and I fell for the con anyway.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb