Dirt Week


Advertisement
Published: February 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

An Entire Week of Moving Dirt...Oh, the Memories



I moved dirt this entire week. It was incredibly boring, it would have been the most uneventful week ever if my computer had not broken in the middle of it. Yep, I am just about the only person that I know that has convinced his Apple computer hard drive to burn itself into a state of useless mush. Anyway, that is about the only exciting story for this week:

Monday Feb 12: I took my computer to a guy in Panajachel who was supposed to be an expert with Apple computers. I walked in and saw a bunch of really old apple computers on the wall and thought, ¨yeah I am sure this guy will be able to help me¨ since sarcasm doesn´t transfer to print well, I said it sarcastically. Then I looked over and he had two 30+ inch Apple cinema displays with the two largest most powerful computers ever attached to them. Anyway, long story short, a half pack of cigarrettes and at least 1 joint (I had left by this point but saw the remnants) later he could not do anything for my computer because it was fried.

Later that evening it rained for the first time since I have been down here (it is the dry season). That was exciting because it was a deluge and I went with Dona Luce and Estella to get bread in Solola. Well, they don´t believe in gutters here and the streets turned into rivers, as if that wasn´t exciting enough, our taxi driver was a moron and couldn´t drive in the mud to save his life. His idea of controlled driving was slamming on the gas and then turning the wheel as far as it would go away from the direction of his slide and then turing it back all the way the other way when he over-corrected. It was exciting.

Kylie is coming on Thursday and I am taking Spanish classes this week, two nice changes of pace for me. Anyway, thanks for listening.

Andy

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb