Day 6 - Chichi Market


Advertisement

UNREAL.
I head to the market around 7am. At this time things were still happening. People were still setting up stalls and the streets were fairly bare. The central park area was building up quickly.

I looked around without buying anything at first, just wanting to compare prices and see what was there. It was quite a maze through all the stalls and walkways.

By the time I made my way back around to the street that my hotel is on (2 hours later), I didn't even recognize the street. I honestly thought I made a wrong turn. By 10am, everywhere was transformed. The landmarks I'd used the night before were not covered with a wooden frames and plastic covering, and displaying beautiful colours. I got some great pics that I can't wait to post when I get home.

I went back to my hotel twice in the day to use the bathroom and drop off things I'd purchased, but all in all I think I spent 5 hours walking the market. I spent $108 but got SOOOO many things with that money. From a skirt to wall hanging to scarf to bracellet to purse... and SO much more. Oh man. Great shopping day. I'm kinda tired of saying "no gracias" though. They are so ready to sell you things. Bargining is big too. The funniest for me was a hat that went from 70Q (approx $10) to 20Q (approx $3).

Also saw many live chickens being held upside down by their feet and being sold to other locals. Pigs too - dragged on a rope or carried through the market. Either way, squeeling the whole time. Horrible noise. Early in the morning is when the locals were out buying their stuff.

At 2pm I caught a shuttle back to Panajachel and from there caught a boat to Santa Cruz La Laguna. GREAT place at this hotel. It's called Iguana Perdida (Lost Iguana). Got a dorm bed in a cool room in a cabin. Straw mat walls. Totally looks like camp. Only 35Q ($5). This place also has internet, family-style dinners (tonight is pizza apparently!), a dive shop, and a tv lounge with a DVD player and many videos to choose from.

Haven't met the dive instructors yet but I intend on diving tomorrow. Should be interesting. It's high-altitude diving so they use different charts. It's also lake diving so it'll be different scenery down there for sure. Apparently some cool vocanic rock formations too. It's a lake but I don't have to wear a dry suit, as apparently the water is warm enough to wear a long, thicker wet-suit (for all you divers reading this).

That's it for now. Cool that I've been able to update this daily but it's been easier than I thought, as so many places have internet, and I've had a surprising amount of downtime as well. I know it keeps the fam from having heart attacks as well, worrying about where I am next. Rest assured. I'm doing well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



2nd July 2007

Great day
Glad you had a great day at the market - I was thinking of you this morning on my run knowing that's where you were at the same time and picturing you there - cool. Have fun diving tomorrow! Love MOM

Tot: 0.327s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 17; qc: 80; dbt: 0.1187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb