Not quite so miserable


Advertisement
Published: January 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Just so everyone knows, I may be regaining some of my happiness. Today was the best day I’ve had yet in Coban. Of course, it was cold as all hell, but people did say a few things that made me think that I will get better. Most people are surprised how cold it is here and apparently it hasn’t been this cold in many years. Another good thing, this should only last about another month and then things will start to get warmer. Once the sun comes out, it gets pretty hot, pretty fast considering our elevation. The day I say I’m hot, I hope someone slaps me hard. So, tonight I am wrapped up in my usual winter get up, praying that soon this cold front will end.

I had to go into work early today and start setting up whatever is ready for my class, which is not much at all. I did put together most of the curriculum for the year, so I am pretty happy with the progress so far. It was quite interesting trying to explain my ideas to my assistant teacher. It’s weird that I even have one, to be honest. Either way, she seems very sweet and my Spanish will surely improve, considering she speaks no English whatsoever. Most of my day was spent either trying speak Spanish or act out what I meant. I think it went pretty well and I can already see the improvement in my Spanish, just in the last couple of days.

Luckily, someone worked out some sort of arrangement and now, my classes don’t start until Friday. Good thing, considering we don’t have any furniture at all. Apparently, that will be ready tomorrow. They have made some new chairs and have cut the large desks in half and added some legs. I don’t care how they do it, as long as there’s something to sit on come Friday.

While looking for wall hangings to decorate my class with, I did encounter some scary creatures. I was in the teacher’s lounge, digging around the supplies, when I found what I thought was a really cool green word wall holder. I was so happy to find it, I didn’t consider what could be living in there at all. I held it up and quickly let it unravel, which is when at least ten cockroaches fell out and onto my feet. I’m not going to lie, I did scream a little. My assistant, Ilma, just started laughing at me and stomping on all f them. Needless to say, the floor of the lounge is now covered in white roach guts. I’m not cleaning it, no way. But at least in the end, I do have a cute “newish” wall hanging!

Sadly, two people that I’ve just met are already leaving. Felipe is moving to Antigua on Wednesday and David will be heading back to California in a couple of weeks. I’m kind of sad that I won’t get to know them better and what’s even worse is, nobody else is coming in to replace them. At least not any time soon.

All of us, minus Emily, went out for drinks and dinner tonight after our open house at the school. It was the first time I’ve actually had a beer since being here, sadly enough. What was even worse is I couldn’t truly enjoy it because I was wrapped up like a true Canadian up north. Thank god for those mittens, I tell ya. It was nice getting out of the house, out of the school and just kicking back with a drink. Poor Emily wasn’t able to come to school today, the staff meeting, the open house or the bar. She got sick last night, shortly after Jaclyn, only much, much worse. Jaclyn was only sick for a few hours and then slept the rest of it off. Emily, on the other hand, was rough. I heard her getting sick around 3 am, I know this not because I have a clock, but because that’s when the roosters start. When I got up and ready for work at 7, she was practically crawling out of the bathroom looking as though she was on death’s door. She had her pillow and blankets with her because she had to sleep in the bathroom. She seems to be feeling a bit better, but whatever it is, it better keep away from me.

I thin the most surprising thing for me is that after all that I’ve done so far since I’ve been here, going to Pacas to buy warm clothing has been the highlight of my trip. Today, I purchased two sweaters and a hat. All of which cost me about 1 dollar, again. I don’t even let them bag the sweaters I buy anymore. I just put them on right then and there. Today I noticed I wasn’t feeling all that cold. But that’s also when I realized I had three shirts, one tank top and three sweaters, a hat, mitts and scarf. I think that’s going to be my new style. That way, when the warm weather comes, people will think I’ve lost a ton of weight. When in reality, I’ve only lost about 6 layers.

We are moving into our new apartment on Friday and I’m crossing my fingers that I’ll have internet by hmmm, Saturday. But, I should possibly find a bed first. I don’t know. Either way, I’m just excited to move in and start setting up everything, getting cozy. I say cozy because it reminds me of heat, I think. So, come Friday, things will again be looking up. I won’t be living out of suitcases, although, if I don’t find a bed soon, I may be living on my suitcases.

Like I said before, things seemed a little better today and I’m not quite so miserable. I also know, that it can only get better, it can’t get much worse than what it has been . Unless of course, it snows. If that happens, you guys will be seeing me soon in Canada. I’m sure that won’t happen, just giving the family the heads up, that’s all.

Oh and one other thing. Just in case any one was worried or heard anything about the earthquake in Guatemala. Yes, it happened and yes, we’re all fine. It was a pretty small one and not a big deal here. I don’t know if it’s on the news at home and you never know what they’re saying back there, so just so everyone knows…everything is okay here.


Advertisement



14th January 2010

See things are looking up and will only get better I would really like a pic of you in your 6 layers!!!! Now go find yourself an air mattress!!!!
14th January 2010

Gallo
Please tell me it was gallo... and you had one for me... mmm Gallo...
18th January 2010

Oh yes! It was most certainly Gallo. Loved it!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb