Where art thou heat??


Advertisement
Published: January 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Every single part of me is screaming get out of here…and fast! I know that most of you at home will laugh when I say this, or possibly even roll your eyes, but please don’t. It is so ridiculously cold here, it is really starting to get to me. My body is aching from the constant shivering I’ve been doing for the past two days. At least at home, if you get cold, you can turn up the heat. Here, there is no such thing. It is just cold, surrounded by more cold. Oh and the rain doesn’t help much either. It has been raining for two days and hasn’t stopped. But, apparently the rainy season just ended. I think someone lied to me. At night, I get into my damp, freezing cold bed, wrap myself in blankets and then rearrange my scarf so that I don’t choke. In bed, just to stay warm, I have resorted to wearing to a whole winter get up, which includes the hat and the mittens. I then wrap myself up and pray that the stray cat that’s in heat, finds it’s way into my room to curl up next to me. I don’t even care if it has fleas at this point. I know that this cold can only last so long, apparently until March, but the real question is can I last that long? I found myself standing in the middle of my room, wearing the winter get up, four pairs of socks, slippers, two sweaters and a hoodie, listening to the rain and the roosters, wondering how long I can go before I just scream at the top of my lungs. I just want to give up. I’m not going to however, but it definitely crosses my mind ever 10 minutes or so.

Other than the freezing cold weather, constant rain and just straight up dullness of the last couple of days, not much else is going on. To truly understand how miserable it is here, I will have you know that I have not had one drink since I’ve been here. Not a beer, not a shot. Nothing. It’s too cold to go out and no, I am not the only one that thinks this. All of the teachers were supposed to go out and watch a soccer match, then hit up one of the only two bars in town, but, it was too cold and everyone backed out. So, my days here have been spent wrapped up in as many blankets as I can find, worrying about what I’m going to do for my first few days of school. This should be easy, but apparently, nothing is going to come easy for me here. There was a mix up with the book order and now they won’t be here until sometime late February. But that’s completely okay, as my classroom also has no furniture. There are no desks, no table, no chairs, but luckily for me, I do have a shelf. That’s going to get me very far.

I know it may seem as though I just am just being negative about everything, which I don’t mean to be, but it’s becoming very hard not to. As I am writing this, I am still wrapped up in blankets, listening to the rain in my winter get up. I was told that it got chilly here, I was told that it rained here, so I shouldn’t be surprised right? Wrong. What they should’ve said was it’s freezing here, actually it’s 2 degrees, so not quite freezing, oh and the rain…well you’ll have two weeks when it won’t rain at all. Lucky me. That’s exactly what I need. A year of rain and no sun. It’s as though I’m being punished for every single thing I’ve ever done wrong.

But, moving on from my awful mood and the even worse climate, I have managed to do a little bit of Paca shopping. My Mother would love it here. There are Pacas (used clothing) stores everywhere and they are always willing to give you a bargain. You can find anything you could possibly want there. You want American eagle sweaters? You can have ones that look brand new for under a buck. I haven’t spent enough time actually trying to buy sweaters yet, surprisingly. I’m going to try to do that so I can finally take off this hoodie that I’ve been wearing since forever. I did manage to find very nice, warm jogging pants for under a buck and another pair pf shoes. I need shoes really bad. Yesterday after walking around in the rain for six hours, just looking around, my feet were soaked. This morning when I needed to wear them to work, they were still soaked and may possibly have had ice crystals forming. But luckily for me, Jaclyn had her blow dryer. So, for an hour I sat on my bed and blow dried my shoes. It worked fairly well, but I still had to put plastic bags on my feet.

Last night the three of us girls and the two brothers from our host family, went for a car ride. We got to check out the stadium and we drove by the two bars in town. Exciting times I tell you. Actually, it was pretty fun and just nice to get out of the house, where I have been pretty much holed up since my arrival.

Now that I cannot possibly complain about how cold I am anymore, I guess that about sums it all up. I really don’t know how I am going to make it here. I feel really sad. I wanted so desperately to like it here, but I just don’t know if I can. I feel as if I’m going to crazy here, wrapped up in my scarf, hat and mittens for a year. I am going to wait and see if things feel a bit warmer in the new apartment. Hopefully not having a tin roof and holes in the walls will help. If not, it looks like I’m going to have to go to Plan B. First, I need to create a Plan B.


Advertisement



11th January 2010

HA HA HA
AWWWWW I do feel for you in the cold=) I am sad for you in all the rain that sucks because being damp goes right into your bones and I am sure you did not pack winter clothing being where you are!Things will start to look brighter for you I know it!!!I am desperate to here about your travel to get there the whole airport ordeal=)We have snow lots of it has not stopped for one day since you left=(I want some american eagle sweaters find out how much to send to me!!You know I need a new cottage hoodie hell just a new hoodie=)Keep your chin up kiddo as your last travel started out great and went to shit so things will get better for you real soon=)Love and miss you!!
12th January 2010

Where do your students sit??? As for the cold, I think it's just a cold front, no? Tegus is WAY colder than Comayagua but even at that, it's been a low of about 5 at most. Totally went and bought two new heavy knitted sweaters from the mall on Saturday. I wish they only cost me a dollar though!
12th January 2010

Quit ya bloodclot cryin' gal! Hahah joking, wow, that does suck. No desks, chairs, books? So is this a school or prison? What will you have your kids do? Mill around like mangy stray cats? Oh and you know what Plan B is. If the Mexicans can make it here, c'mon, I know a Canadian can! ;) Haha joking...
12th January 2010

Bubbles
Good to hear you made it- I had a feeling the climate was not going to be up to Janet-par, but give it a little while. I do recall Guatemala being hella cold, but does it get warm during the days? Or is it still rainy? And no furniture what's that about? LOL... wow. Well, you've got three things going for you: AE sweaters, roosters and a shelf. We all know that if you can't get up in the morning (roosters) you'll have a hard time putting on your stylish clothes to get to school (AE sweaters) and you won't be able to put anything on your shelf! Would you for god's sake have a Gallo for me though... if you need to put every piece of clothing you have on first to do it- DO IT TO IT! You won't regret it. Keep your head up and keep the blogs acomin'. Love and miss you!
13th January 2010

Saddened
Oh Janet I am so sorry you are feeling so miserable. You know you will make it through though as you always do. It does sound very depressing though the weather. Just like you wrote though you need to go stock up on some more sweaters. When you get to the apartment I am sure you will be warmer. So chin up and just think of happier times ahead.
13th January 2010

Well Jules, I'm pretty sure that the cost would about even itself out for the AE sweaters. They may be less than a dollar at most Pacas...the shipping price would get ya in the end. But, think about it this way, if you move cottage week to Coban...you can fill your suitcase with stuff for me and bring home lots an dlots of AE sweaters. Just something to think about ;)
13th January 2010

Things are starting to look up. The director put off the start of my class until Friday. That way, there is time for them to get the whole furniture thing figured out. They should be ready for tomorrow. So, fingers crossed.
13th January 2010

No, the climate is most certainly not up to par. But, from what the locals tell me, it hasn't been this cold since 1998. That's right, they even know the last year they froze like this and apparently this is even colder than that. Also, i hear there's a cold front right now and even Tegus is only at 5 degrees. So, I'm not the only one freezing. The furniture thing is getting sorted out. They put off classes for a couple more days until there's somewhere to sit. So, things are getting a bit better. Miss you lots!
13th January 2010

Yes, I'll make it. I'm living. Things are starting to get better. I was having a pretty off day. Like I said before, blogs can't always be happy, because I'm not always happy. I write what I'm feeling, that way, you know what's actually going on with me.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb