The Womanly Art of Tucking In


Advertisement
Published: April 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Thursday, March 17

I wake up just before daybreak. I imagine that I am a child again, waking to the mournful sound of a Vancouver foghorn. I fall back into a restless sleep, and this time imagine that I am living in a small town in northern Israel, listening to the Arab junk dealers coming down the lane. "Alterzachen!" they call out in Yiddish, which is pretty funny, if you stop to think about it. Loosely translated, this means "old things", and it makes me smile to think of Arabs calling out in Yiddish to an Israeli population. Stuff like that never makes the evening news.

Third time around, I remember that I am in Guatemala, and I haul myself out bed to see what the racket is all about. The women that work in the kitchen tell me that a truck with a loudspeaker on top delivers petrol to all the households, early each morning. I'm guessing that it fuels the burners, since the cook now stands rooted to her spot in front of the stove. Sometimes, she serves pancakes or fried plantain. Today, she ladles out oatmeal from a steaming cauldron.

Our days take on a predictable rhythm. We leave the lodge soon after breakfast, fed but still groggy, giant clusters of purple bougainvillea spilling over the Casa Damasco walls. Right away, I get to accompany a patient from the post-operative ward to the albuergo, an area set up into two dormitories, one for the men and another for the women. I feel a palpable sense of relief every time I do it, a lessening of visceral pain, even though my patient may still be in some discomfort. A strangulated hernia has been repaired, and now a farmer can get back to work. A priest had his troublesome gallbladder removed, and finally he is free of pain. A grandmother gets a hysterectomy and is relieved of a uterus that has been trailing down between her legs for 17 years. At the risk of being indelicate, let's just say the offending organ looked scuffed and battered as a weathered purse.

The lightness in my own step is enhanced by a group that gathers, as if on cue, to welcome each patient "home". Families sit alongside the ramp, sunning themselves like somnolent lizards one moment, then springing into action to greet our small procession with smiles and pats. It's a bit like running the last lap in a big race: kudos all round.

In the albuergo, the patient gets settled by another gaggle of women, falling over each other to arrange blankets and pillows with sisterly affection. I have done nothing at all (and I mean it -- nothing) but I always get a meaningful look or a squeeze on the arm as I lean down to tell each person goodbye. "Espero que tu recuperes pronto," I say, in truly terrible Spanish, trusting that the sentiment will get better treatment in Achi or Qeqchi, or any of the other 22 Mayan languages.

I hope that you get better soon.

It feels terrific to be saying this, considering all they've been through. And it feels terrific to be part of this experience, even though it goes roughly the same way every time. They get to put on their colourful clothing, and that brings them back to life. And they seem pretty happy, sitting in a wheelchair, clutching their Canadian gift bags and a vial containing a collection of their own gallstones. Finally, there's that look of gratitude as I ease off their plastic slippers, move them to the mattress, and tuck them into bed. It's one of the few occasions in life where things seem to go right every time.











Advertisement



5th April 2011

Keep 'em coming!
Liz, this is great. It seems like it was so long ago but you brought it all back. Thanks, and don't stop. I love it! L, J
5th April 2011

Keep writing!
I love your blogs and am thrilled when a new one appears!
5th April 2011

Incredible comparisons and descriptions
Oh what a journey it has been. Thank you for bringing us this 'slice of life' so vividly and with such meaning. The warm and welcome way you greeted the post-op patients gave them hope and dignity. The experience will be forever etched on their memories as well as on yours. What a wonderful feeling knowing how much your actions have been appreciated in Guatemala. Project Hands is indeed fortunate to have found such gems in you and Ron. Love, Miri
6th April 2011

I can just feel the sun and see the bright coloured clothing and smiles of the people who have just had their lives change much for the best. What a beautiful thing to be able to give comfort and share in this happiness. Carolyn
6th April 2011

You are a Gift, Liz Morantz!!!
Greetings!! What a fantastic journal of what must indeed be a life changing experience. It must validate so much about who you are as a person, Liz. You are always ready to care and express tenderness. How wonderful that you are sharing this with those in such obvious need. Luv, Kev
6th April 2011

Womenanly Art
Liz you did it again,your writing is so expressive I feel like i am right with you . Oh how I wish I had of been. See you soon. Love Betty
6th April 2011

Posts generally
Hi Liz, I've signed up to receive your wonderful blogs directly. Initially, I enjoy the somewhat ambivalent titles then the text. I hope you'll be able to continue this delightful series, they're such a joy to read.
7th April 2011

Well done
Thank you, Liz. Your writing brings a bit of Guatemala to all who read it. Much appreciated!
7th April 2011

Moving with love
What an incredible experience you are having, amongst simple, loving and caring people - no complaining, just appreciating "Project Hands". How descriptive the blog is and I feel deeply moved with each expressive sentence you write. Thank goodness the world has people like you.

Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 27; qc: 112; dbt: 0.2033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb