Aw, do I HAVE to go home?


Advertisement
Published: August 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Utila to Guatemala City


A meat shopA meat shopA meat shop

In La Cieba. Typical ... no refrigeration or air conditoning meat hanging, flies buzzing. So glad I'm a vegetarian.
I'm on my way home tomorrow, so this is my last entry. I don't want to go. There have been too many different things to see and do here.
When I left Utila I took the most direct route I could back to Guatemala City. It was a long days bus ride to Copan and found that there was no other transport until the next day so I settled in and had a very nice relaxing dinner in a vegetarianish restaurant. The next day the only tourist shuttle or bus heading back to Guatemala wouldn't leave until 2 PM and would drop me in Antigua at 8 PM to look for a hotel. So, I had to do it the Central American way... First there was the shuttle to the border which wasn't bad except that here they like to cram as many people as possible in the van, unlike tourist shuttles that only pack in as many people as there are seats. Fortunately for me I was in the front seat so there was only me, the driver, and a woman who is a money changer at the border and conveniently changed my lampiras back to quetzales. Walking across the border, I got in another shuttle that was so filled with people that I every time the driver stopped to pick up another passenger, I thought, that there was absolutely no way anyone else could get in the van....and yet they did! The driver kept looking out the window to check the tires. I'm sure he thought they were going to pop! Being in the front seat again, I thought I would immune from such madness but in the end I wound up squeezed between two other passengers, half sitting on the lap on the man next to me while we constantly apologize to each eother for moving, and pressed up against the young women on the other side of me. One arm was pressed into my lap and the other above my head for about an hour. Quite the ride! The rest of the way here was a bit more comfortable.
I've just been told I have to get off the computer right now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb