Indigenous Rights Day Manifestation


Advertisement
Published: October 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, Oct. 12, was indigenous rights day here in Guatemala. It's at least in part a reaction to Columbus Day in the States. I was awoken by loud speakers blaring from trucks on Reforma, the main street in this part of the city, and still groggy from a lousy night's sleep, I went out on my balcony to see what was going on. I took these pix, but too bad I couldn't get any sound to go along with them. It was as much a protest against USA agricultural policies that the indigenous Guatemalans feel screw them over on their agricultural exports, as it was a demonstration in favor of indigenous rights. So Reforma was blocked and I had to wait awhile to leave for work. Once I finally got in my cab to go to work, we ended up getting stuck right in front of the USA embassy (about 4 blocks from my apt.) and it was at that point that I realized that the manifestation was more against the USA's policies that prevent poor Guatemalans from exporting their agricultural products than anything else. So here I was, an American woman, stuck in a cab in front of the USA embassy with all the protesters. But my cabbie got what was going on and got us out of there ASAP before anyone really saw me. Not that anything would have happened (no Guatemalan would hold me responsible for my country's policies!) but still, it was eye-opening and a little distressing. Of course being a liberal, I tend to side with the Guatemalan disappointment in USA agricultural policy, but I digress. This is not a forum for my politics 😊 Anyway, here are the pix from my balcony - notice the traditional indigenous (Maya) dress especially of the women...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb