A refund - Yes!


Advertisement
Published: April 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After so much confusion yesterday, today went ever so smoothly. I ended up buying a few small souvenirs from a boy of about 12 years who sells items he makes himself on the street. I originally bought two similar articles. I had left and was a block away when he came running after me and gave me a third item free. So I went back to my hostel a block away and got a small flag and head bandana for him, and also got him to write his name in my book. Then I bought a few more small items to give away (they were very cheap) and left him with a big smile on his face. The first item I bought was a package of what he was selling and a photo of him!

Lunch was a can of Del Monte tropical fruit cocktail after I showered and just before the bus came. Earlier I had a large piece of chocolate cake at a restaurant. I think I have enough water and Gatorade left to complete my stay here, and I can buy cold drinks here if I want to.

The ride back was on time and uneventful. The bus was comfortably full of very friendly young people. And I had the company of a young woman from Newcastle, England beside me. She is two months into a year long tour of Central and South America, with Peru being her next stop. Another couple are from Wyoming, where they had a huge amount of snow this past winter. Did I tell you that this morning at the internet shop the other customer was a 63 year old woman who went there from the USA for a month and has now been there for a year? She has become a one person NGO, raising money for roofs and other things for schools in the area of Copan, and loving it!

We had a lunch stop at 2PM, when I did treat myself to a cold Pepsi (it was very warm in that area). I also learned that my trail mix was turning to mush! I know there is a bit of chocolate in it and some white stuff that may be white chocolate or maybe yogurt chips. Maybe I can cool it off here in the fridge.

Once back at the hostel I took a short walk to stretch my legs and visited a small store nearby that I knew was there. I bought bananas for the first time, but will be sure to wash them well before I eat them. I also got a very small bag of potatoes chips, so that will be supper. There is no restaurant nearby.

So that´s about it from Central America. I hope I haven´t bored you too much with my adventures. Of coiurse there is more to come. My cousin in Toronto will meet my plane on Monday, assuming I get through Mexico and Dallas as planned. I have two nights there, then my overnight flight to London. Besides having the Cubs and Scouts pay for a B&B for me in Fyvie for a few nights, the Scouts in Banff are also expecting me and the leader has offered me supper as well as any other support I need, even her van! That I won´t need since I have a car reserved for 10 days.

Now tell me again, what am I going to do for eight hours in the Mexiso City airport?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb