3:45 wakeup calls and other misc thoughts


Advertisement
Published: November 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

What a way to begin the year of travel. Anytime before 8am is not good for me unless I am coming back from a blackjack table with a pocket full of greens...which has occurred in Palm Springs, Tahoe, Vegas and Montreal this year... Not bad for one year.

Anyway, the early early wakeup and 2 flts gave me time to contemplate a few rules of the road for the year....

1)NO MORE FLTS before 10am

2)DO talk to strangers

3)Pack light and then reduce by 50%

4)Never say never

5)Go local...food, music, people etc

6)Avoid long crazy bus rides

7)Do learn a few basic phrases in local language

8)Don't follow all the rules all the time


I am sure I will be adding to this list but that is at least the starting point for now.

The packing light for even a 11 day trip was a bit of a challenge and lead me to contemplate...What is a necessity and what is a luxury? And more importantly how will change over the next year or so?

I am happy to say my pack only weighed 24 lbs( my 22in rolling usually weighs about 40lbs for a 5 day trip!)

Here is where I am currently netting out but that will also be evolving I am sure as I travel more...

NECESSITY
--walking shoes
LUXURY
--Heels, cute shoes

NECESSITY
--a nail file
LUXURY
--Manicures

NECESSITY
--Clean filtered water
LUXURY
--Volvic or Evian

NECESSITY
--Good skincare
LUXURY
--all hair products besides shampoo

NECESSITY
--Bug spray
LUXURY
--Screened windows and doors

NECESSITY
-Internet cafe
LUXURY
-laptop, berry, phone

NECESSITY
--Deodorant
LUXURY
--Perfume( I already ran out!)

NECESSITY
--messenger bag, money belt
LUXURY
--Purses

And the list goes on and on and on.

Waiting for Zach to get back from town so I can download some pics and send updates on Antigua and Lake Atitlan. But all is good in Guatemala.... No thefts, no illness, no encounters with the police. Pretty sane and uneventful

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb