Flight For Love


Advertisement
Published: January 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Where do I begin my adventure? On July 4th I met an amazing lady from Guatemala on Skype. We have been talking 4 to 5 hours a day ever since. Finally I was able to make plans to come to see her. I had made reservations for the 29th. However I told her I would be coming on the 30th. I had planned to surprise her with the help of her daughter Lissy (19 years old). The plan was Lissy would invite her mother for a special announcement dinner (hinting but not saying directly that she was pregnant or that she was getting married).

In the weeks before the trip I had to move from one apt to another in the same block. The night before I had to be out of my old apt and was not done so I had to stay up all night to get ready for the trip and complete the rest of my move.

Great plans are always bound to Murphy's Laws and in this case he did his job. I was delayed 3 hours in Houston Texas in the plane on the runway waiting for the thunderstorms to clear. When we finally took off and we were above the clouds we could see the lightning in the clouds from above. The most amazing force of nature I have ever seen with my own naked eyes.

While on the runway (engine off) the pilot had given us permission to use our cellphones. So I called to let Lissy know that I was going to be late because of weather. She didn't answer but I left a voice message. We ended up landing at around 1am. I expected that either Lissy would cancel the whole thing so I would simply surprise Mimi at her house while she is sleeping or she would tell Mimi the truth and they would be waiting for me at the airport. The later was the case.

As I approached the crowded exit where there was no room along the barrier, I spotted Mimi in her blue hat (see picture taken a few hours earlier) jumping like a rabbit waving like a crazy woman. As she could not get to the railing since all the spaces were taken she hopped and jumped along the way until she could get around all the people and jump into my arms. A sight I will never forget.

It was a very surreal experience. Being that we had only seen each other via webcam and pictures.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb