Getting ready for departure


Advertisement
Published: September 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Kathy's Travel Map


00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS

until departure to Guatemala





Departure date: Oct 1, 2006.


I have many things to finish doing before heading off to Guatemala for the first leg of my trip. Immunizations, health insurance, financial, movers...you name it. It's coming together and I plan to be ready.
I'll be flying into Guatemala City and then heading to Antigua which is about a 1 hour drive. I will be starting with 3 weeks of total Spanish Immersion lessons at the 'Proyecto Linguistico Francisco Marroquin' school www.langlink.com/plfm/index.htm. I need a major brush-up since high school. I have a personal tutor for 7 hours a day, 5 days a week. I'll be staying with a local family. 1 week housing in a private room including 3 meals a day is $65...try finding that in DC!.
My first weekend there I'll be taking a trip to the Tikal Ruins. This is in the northeastern part of the country. I'll take a small plane up there and stay in the Jungle Lodge right at the ruins.
After my 3 weeks I plant to head to the Pacific coast and do some volunteer work for about a week at www.arcasguatemala.com.
From there I will head to Rio Dulce. A river inlet off of the Caribbean side that is a hurricane harbor for all the yachts cruising around the world. I've been emailing with several boats that are currently harbored at Rio Dulce. I plan to crew for a boat there and leave in mid November when Hurricane Season ends. I don't know from there, but hope to go to Belize, Roatan Island, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, Columbia etc....

Advertisement



17th September 2006

Soooo jealous
Oh Kathy- I'm sooo jealous reading about this. You'll have to take and send me lots of photos so that I can live vicariously through you. Have an amazing time and remember I'm only a phone call (or very long flight) away.
19th September 2006

I'm OK with this !!!
My Dear, Please, please, be careful. Don't do anything dangerous, or too adventurous. And be sure not to talk to strangers. but by all means have a good time. Be sure to call every day. I love you, Mom
19th September 2006

Wishing you a safe journey! We will be following you on your jouney via-blog. Can't wait to hear all about it and see pictures. Bon Voyage!
19th September 2006

Nicaragua
Wow Kathy!!!! Have an awesome time...If you make it down to Nicaragua, I have some friends living in Granada. Looking forward to seeing your updates. Max
19th September 2006

Good for you!
Kathy: I don't know if you recall that I sold everything in 1995 and bought a catamaran. We spent 7 years in the Caribbean and the Med. It was the best thing ever. Congratulations for making the break. You will never regret it. All the best.
20th September 2006

GOOD LUCK
you done it , good for you , cheers
22nd September 2006

Have a great time
Congratulations! This is just amazing. Be safe! I don't know your travels plans, but I will be in Florianopolis/Brazil in January, if you would like a local guide (me) let me know!
24th September 2006

Buena Suerte
Kathy - I wish you all the luck in the world! Enjoy each moment of this amazing opportunity! Make sure to let me know if you head to Panama...my parents would LOVE to see you!
25th September 2006

Have Fun!
Kathy, you are so crazy! Be safe. I am so looking forward to reading your blogs.
26th September 2006

Finally ;~))
All those years ago when I hired you, I knew that you would some day fulfill this wish. Having sailed with you I know your skills, and having spent several years working with you, I know that in all situtaions your intrepid spirit will over come all odds. Margaret and I wish you an exciting, but always safe, adventure. Enjoy!!!
28th September 2006

Buena Suerte
Good Luck to you Kath!! I wish I could go with you - maybe we can meet up somewhere along the way on your journey. I look forward to your blogs, pictures, and all the fantastic stories you will have to share. Love ya ~ Tina
30th September 2006

A Must See!!
Hey Kathy One more thing that we forgot to mention...there is this BEAUTIFUL hotel in Antigua that you MUST see. It is better to go at night when it is lit by candelight to get the full beauty of it. It is at the southeat part of town just to the right of the main entrance into the town of Antigua. Im sure if you mention it to someone there they might be able to show you where it is at. It is a definite must it is a pretty high end hotel maybe the only really nice one in town. Soo Good Luck, Have Fun , and Be Safe! Oh yeah enjoy the black beans mmmmmmm.....so good!!
2nd October 2006

Bien Viaje!
Awesome to hear that you are doing this, Kathy. Sometime next year, I hope to be doing something similar so it'd be fun to meet up. We'll all be living vicariously through you so don't hold back on the adventure!
4th October 2006

Have a great time!!!
Kathy: We are excided for you. You live only once and it's great that you are living it to the fullest. Be safe and we will miss seeing you at Xmas. Hopefully we will have some good news for you here soon. Love you and take care!!
19th October 2006

Have a great trip!
Hi Kathy- Hope all is going great in your travels so far! Have an awesome time. Stay safe and follow your heart.. the adventure awaits. Best, Amy

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb