Hola mis amigos


Advertisement
Published: August 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We made it to Guatemala and what can I say but culture shock.
I'm living with a lovely Guatemalian family who only speak to me in Spanish. It is an interesting experience. Each day I understand a little more and can sort of now have conversations with them. I am living with a family which consists of the grandparents, husband and wife and wife's sister, three children and grandchild. very confusing.
It is great though. They also serve me Guatemalian food which is good because they don't eat a lot of meat so it isn't a battle to try and explain the concept of being a vegetarian.
Now comes school. My first week I was in a class of four. The funny thing is the school says they hardly get Australians and funnily enough there was 3 of us in the class. The other is from the USA. We have 2 teachers, each teaches us for 2 hours. I tell you what it is more difficult than I thought. the hardest part is the verbs. I don't think I'll ever get it.

I've been pretty busy though since I've got here with class and doing activities. I've checked out the local market which was interesting. Heaps of fruit and vegetables I've never seen, also some amazing Mayan work which I would love to buy heaps of but got to watch the dosh.

Tuesday I headed to Casa Popenoe which is a large house which was built in 1963 but was partially destroyed in the earthquake in 1773. In 1929 it was bought by some rich guy who restored it to show how a royal official lived in the 17th century in Antigua.

Wednesday headed to Mayan music museum which was really interesting. The guide was a Mayan woman. She took the tour completely in Spanish and funnily enough I understood quite a bit. She demonstrated many of the different instruments which was really interesting. We then headed to the coffee farm. We had another tour in Spanish but I was a little over it after the previous tour of trying to concentrate also I don't like coffee. he showed us the coffee making machinary and explained how to tell what is good coffee.

Thursday I went to a Mayan market in a small village outside of Antigua called San Antonio. We took a chicken bus which is
even the dog followed us upeven the dog followed us upeven the dog followed us up

Fabulous views everywhere at the crater
quite an experience. They are old american school buses which seats as many people as you can squeeze in. Even though each seat is for 2 somehow they manage 3 or 4 people. very squishy. But the town itself was quite lovely and quiet and the market had amazing things. Very colourful and beautiful but again got to watch the dosh.

But Thursday morning must of been the highlight of the week. I was picked up by a guide at 4am with several other people and taken on an hour drive to Volcan Pacaya. one of the 20 odd volcanos in Guatemala and one of three active ones. Yes that's right active. So we got to the volcano and it was approximately and hour walk up to the top. Now the top isn't quite the top because it is forbidden so we first went to where the lava was. We went early because it is easier to see the lava when it is darker. And all I can say is wow. the long walk was more than worth it. We also got to walk on the solid lava and watch the lava flow between the cracks. The pictures don't even come close to how good it was. Anyway, we just happened to have a really cool guide who agreed, even though it is't allowed, to take us right up to the crater. It was a tough walk but again worth it. You couldn't see into the crater cause of all the sulphar but the view was amazing. It was hard work going down cause of all the lava sand stuff. Basically you had to slide most of the way down, really cool. Anyway once that was all over we got back to Antigua at 11ish, so it was a long morning but well worth it.

Friday was class then off to Tikal which is an ancient Mayan site. more details in next blog.

¡hasta luengo!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Volcan AguaVolcan Agua
Volcan Agua

The view on my way to school every morning.


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb