Macadamia Farm - Valhalla


Advertisement
Published: August 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

On the way to Antigua...On the way to Antigua...On the way to Antigua...

The driver tried to go around the traffic on the left side of the road and went too far and landed in a ditch. Notice that we are FACING traffic. It took us about a half an hour to get out. Guatemalan drivers may be better than those I've seen in southern Mexico, but they are still dangerous.
I got to Antigua in one piece after a little excitement in the shuttle van. (see photo)

Once I got here and checked into a hotel, I went out looking for a chicken bus to a macadamia finca (plantation) that I wanted to see last time I was here but was too afraid to ride the bus by myself. I got there and enjoyed a tour af the farm. This was a tour that most of you would have liked. We toured the plantation which is totally organic and is beginning to rival Hawaii in the monopoly of the macadamia market. After going through the tour they offered samples of the nuts in different forms such as plain, chocolate covered and in oils for the skin and face. They gave me a 100% macadamia oil facial and I bought a bag of the delicious chocolate nuts.
Tomorrow, I'm leaving at 4 AM for the Copan Mayan Ruins in Honduras.
I love hearing from you. Forgive me if I don't write back to you individually. Computer time costs here and I don't want to spend too much of my time on the computer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Macadamia Farm CreedMacadamia Farm Creed
Macadamia Farm Creed

My thoughts exactly
Green ToiletGreen Toilet
Green Toilet

They were very proud to show us this
MacadamiasMacadamias
Macadamias

on the tree.
ValhallaValhalla
Valhalla

Macadamia farm...which was much prettier than my exopression
I usually avoid McDonald's like the Plague...I usually avoid McDonald's like the Plague...
I usually avoid McDonald's like the Plague...

...unless I have to use the bathroom. McDonald's is everywhere. We can't get away from it no matter where you go.


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb