The volcanic city


Advertisement
Published: July 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

AntiguaAntiguaAntigua

View from the hostel
After a long delayed flight from LA, I finally made it to Guatemala City. Exhausted and not sure what to do, I decided to take everyones advice (including the taxi driver's) and got the hell out of there. Trying to communicate with my less than impressive Spanish, I was able to get a ride to Antigua (50km away). Antigua is a beautiful colonial town just outside Guatemala city, everything from its cobblestone roads, to majestic views of three volcanoes, to its bight orange and yellow colored homes give it a unique character not present in many cites. Its also a big backpacking destination and I have met many great travelers. With the help of the taxi driver, I was able to find a hostel for the night and rest.

Today, I hiked up to Cerro de Cruz to get a panoramic view of the city. I Explored a photography art gallery and checked out the local markets. I was originally exited to hike up to the volcanoes but they are no longer active. I believe Nicaragua has active volcanoes so I'll save that till later.

I have decied to leave Antigua tomorrow afternoon and head to Semuc Champey which is the halfway point to Tikal.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



7th July 2012

Awesome hessum keep writing

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb