A fried brain and tired legs


Advertisement
Published: November 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Headed off on my mammoth journey north again. Leaving Granada to Managua from there across the border to hondorus and another cross back out to Elsalvador stopped in San Salvador over night and left again out of Elsalvador and on to Guatemala city which is to be avoided so for me straight to Antigua a beautiful town overlooked by a huge volcano (Pacaya).

Not much fun in a two day bus journey with 6 Borders included but arrived safe and sound but very tired. Spent Sunday checking out this beautiful city just walking through the cobbled streets and getting my bearings and also organising the week ahead.

9am Monday morning Spanish school stared for a week. 4 hours a day for five days and what a culture shock. First cause it's back to a routine, second cause I'm crap at languages and third using my brain is actually hurtin at the moment :-) as if that wasn't enough I also signed up for salsa lessons from 6pm to 7.30.

So my days consisted of school in the morning try to fit something in the afternoon and salsa at night. Turns out I'm much better at salsa than Spanish!! No surprises there but I have picked up some stuff in spanish to help me get buy.

Met a really good group of people here and did some good exploring. I visited the cross on the hill looking across at the volcano. Also visited a macadamia farm and plenty of city sightseeing. Eating loads of street food from the markets and haggling to buy everything. It's a lovely city with a decent nightlife - a great place to spend the week learning Spanish.

5 of us are leaving from here heading west to the lake so that should be fun

Adios amigos, hasta luego x


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Antigua GuatemalaAntigua Guatemala
Antigua Guatemala

At the foot of Volcano Pacaya
Stations of the crossStations of the cross
Stations of the cross

Randomly found these locked away presumable till easter


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb