antigua


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

hola. well i made it to antigua. don't ask me how!!!! lol...my spanish is awful. i called for a taxi to pick me up at patty & bob's house...here is how the conversation went:

TAXI: "blah, blah, blah, taxi, blah, blah, blah"
ME: "buenos dias, necesito un taxi por favor"
TAXI: "blah, blah, blah, blah"
ME: "no comprende"

throughout the conversation i would understand a word and they would understand me and after 5 minutes i had reserved a taxi...YEAH! explaining to the taxi driver that i needed to go to the bus station where there were chicken buses to antigua was another obstacle....but i made it to the station and onto a chicken bus....and now in antigua.

it occured to me on the bus how much i get a rush out of doing things like this. having no idea where i'm going or how things will turn out. i feel like a big kid and the world is my playground. muy divertido. things always turn out okay and even the "oh shit" moments turn out to be an adventure.

so i arrived in antigua with no idea where i was or where i needed to be. not that i needed to be anywhere because i had no reservation or place to stay. but i looked through my trusty "lonely planet guide" and found a spanish school (the cooperacion). i chose this school because it is a cooperative of spanish teachers whom are paid fairly. not to mention that my tuition includes free salsa lessons!!!!

antigua is a sweet little town. very cute. i can't wait to put my bags away and explore. i am now in the internet cafe across the street from the school, waiting to be introduced to my host family. this is the family i will be staying with for the week. i'm a bit nervous to meet them and to see my living space. i hope i like it!!! i'll let you know the verdict tomorrow.

oh...just so you know. i have 50 minutes of talk time on my phone...i might have been unclear in my last message.

natalie ~ i'm so glad that your astrology project worked out. i knew it would. you worked so hard on it sweetie! i miss you soooooooo much already and am sending you a big hug and a kiss. i love you! give my love to nicky & mommy & daddy! ~xo~

mara ~ patty & bob are great...so warm & welcoming. i hardly saw them since they worked all day & babysat last night. i think i saw them for an hour the entire time i was there. i look forward to meeting them again in the US. they send their love.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



7th June 2006

Yaaaaaay!
I'm so glad you're safe and having adventures. I'm sooo envious! Keep us all posted. Sending you lots of love! xo, mls
7th June 2006

I am so glad to hear you are safe and having such a good (and interesting time) I hear Antiqua is amazing, I have a friend who has a home there. Enjoy yourself!
7th June 2006

Hola Senorita!
So happy to hear that you are safe and sound. For fun I tried dialing that number so we could talk for like five of your fifty minutes, but it didn't work and I think I am too much of an idiot to figure it out...be safe!
8th June 2006

Yoga Child misses you...
Hey girlie... I am so excited to hear about your adventures! Though, it was not the same w/o you in class this morning. We miss you here at the studio, but your yoga is your traveling these days. Be good to yourself, and know that there are many in this community in Philly who are thinking of you.... Om Shanti, Jill
8th June 2006

What a Wonderful Opportunity!
I think it's awsome that you are traveling and aside from being totally envious of your freedom...I am soooooo very, very happy for you! I love hearing what you are up to and I can't wait to follow you on this journey...this blog is a great idea and it sounds like you are going to have a wonderful, exciting and adventure full trip!! Best wishes to you...I think this is marvelous darling, simply marvelous!!!! AMD
8th June 2006

Ok I want a Salsa lesson when you return!! Sounds like such a cool way to explore this world ! You go girl with all your courage and confidence. Luv u
9th June 2006

Sup Punk !
Went to Washington, DC, yesterday on our class trip. It was fun and we saw lots of cool stuff. Graduation is tomorrow night and then I'm going to Billy/Robert's for the weekend. Love you and hope you are having fun, Nick. I miss you soooooooo much too! I love you! I gave Mommy and Daddy a kiss like you said, but Nicky wouldn't let me! Here's a hug and kiss for you XOXO Love, Natalie

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb