28 - 34 (Guatemala to Cusco)


Advertisement
Published: January 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Travel Quote - There are two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as if everything is. Albert Einstein.

Back to Antigua. Its Emilys last day as she has to head home early so we go for a nice lunch when we get back. It was a bit of a tearful goodbye as we have spent a wonderful month together. I cheer myself up by going for cheesecake with Julia and Sarah! We have our farewell dinner that night followed by a night on the town. Was such a brilliant night with some dancing on the bar involved! My first time at 26 years of age!

Was a great night but definitely suffered for it the following day. Thankfully climbing Pacaya wasnt til the afternoon though none of us felt particularly able for it even at 2pm. Was so glad I made it though. Was absolutely amazing! It was about a one and a half hour trek up to the top. We had horses following us all the way but I managed to say no and continue climbing. We had some amazing views on the way up despite it being cloudy, as after a while you end up above the clouds. Was a beautiful sight when we got there - fab view across a plain of hard black molten lava with Pacaya Volcano in the background with flowing red lava. We managed to get right up beside the hot lava and you could even see it flowing underneath your feet! So many peoples runners were melting, and we had fun eating toasted marshmallows. We then had the most perfect sunset which was beautiful behind the lava. Definitely one of my highlights of this trip. I have never seen anything quite like it. Walking back in the dark was a feat and a half though! There were a few falls! Straight to bed for the lot of us when we got back!

The next few days were very chilled out. A lot of goodbyes! I really am going to miss this group a lot. I definitely met a few kindred spirits! Moved to a new hostel after everyone left and met some more really cool people in my dorm. My first solo dorm run and I was put in with five boys! Needless to say I didnt mind! Didnt do much on my solo days before my flight to Cusco. No going out for me for a few days! Went on a coffee tour (ok but in Spanish!), wandered around Antigua and generally rested after what has been a whirlwind month! It has been an amazing 34 days, and while I am sad to say goodbye to my new friends and these three beautiful countries I know there are more adventures awaiting me, so its time to move on. Hasta Leugo Guatemala!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb