A Guatemalan Halloween and All Saint's Day!


Advertisement
Published: November 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

I didn't think that Halloween was celebrated in Guatemala, I thought it was really just a North American thing and was actually a little sad that I would be missing it, but I was quite wrong...
There were quite a few kids running about last night all dressed up in their costumes, but instead of going around collecting candy in their bags, they go around collecting quetzales (currency here) and chant something along the lines of we want money. (My spanish sucks, so I don't know exactly what they were saying, but I think it is something along that line). Anyways, it was quite an exciting night to go out and people watch.
This morning I left early for Santiago for the famous "All Saint's Day" celebrations. It's only about 15-20 minutes from Antigua, and the celebration is held in their cemetary. The Guatemalan families construct these huge kites (barriletes) made completely out of different colors of tissue paper (and bamboo for support) that represent the loved ones that they have lost and fly them in the cemetary. They believe that the higher you can fly them the more you are able to communicate with your deceased loved ones souls. Some of them are huge and would have taken weeks to construct and some of them are very small, but all having a very special meaning to the family. It was quite interesting to watch as tons of people would run back and forth through the graveyard to try and fly them, the big ones had like ten people holding the rope and then they would tie them to the tombstones once they could get them up. You really had to watch what was going on as you could get trampled very easily or get struck with a falling kite. In addition to the kites, there was music played and vendors selling anything from souveniers to food and drinks. I delighted myself with roasted corn on the cob and a frozen chocolate covered banana. Both of which were absolutely delicious...
All in all it was an amazing day. I think it is so great that instead of them mourning the deaths of their loved ones like we tend to do, they celebrate it and are happy and rejoice. It must make it much easier to try and accept what has happened and let go rather than dwelling on it and making it much harder to deal with.
Well, tomorrow I start spanish school here in Antigua. I am quite excited as the school looks amazing and there are so many after school activities for me to participate in. (Tomorrow I am signed up for a Guatemalan cooking class). I will also be living with a family here while I am attending classes. They will be picking me up after school tomorrow, so I am excited to meet them as well...



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



1st November 2005

awesome
Shalyn, this great I really enjoy this its like being there with you. Love, Grandma
2nd November 2005

Great stuff, Shalyn!
Hi (from rainy Vancouver) Shalyn: Sounds like you're having a fascinating time. I'm really enjoying your blogs-- and your photos are gorgeous (of course, I knew they would be). The introduction of an Anglo-style Halloween into Guatemala is, I suspect, a realtively recent development-- some regard this as a variant of cultural imperialism; concern has been expressed in Mexico for over a decade now that the Anglo H-ween is making inroads and disrupting and/or influencing/changing the rituals associated with Dios de la Muertes. Others say it's a natural evolution. I lean towards the former view myself-- oh well. Love your reports and photos, and am eagerly looking forward to the ones to come. Safe travels... Gordon

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb