Chicken Buses and Spanish School


Advertisement
Published: October 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I can´t believe that I haven´t written about buses in Guatemala before now. I was spoilt by the nice (albeit expensive and cold) buses in Mexico with reclining seats, tvs and tickets that are printed out with your name and seat number. Guatemala is soooooooooo different.

The majority of buses are called ´chicken buses´. They are actually old US school buses that have been painted really bright colours. The ones I´ve been on so far have been packed, smelly and take 100 hours because they stop every 10 minutes.
There are also lots of minibuses that shuttle between various towns. They are crazy. Even when every seat is full, they still stop for every person that flags them down at the side of the road and squeezes them on. You end up having to sit sideways next to locals who are always invariably sweaty and/or smelly. Luckily I haven´t had to have anyone sit on my lap........yet!

Antigua is a really nice town. It is quite touristy and there are lots of restaurants and bars. There is a bar there owned by one of the original members of the Buena Vista Social Club, and he plays their songs with his new band every Wednesday night. It was really good (but packed!) and I even got a pic with the man himself (although I don´t know his name, whoops!)

I´ve been in Antigua for a week now and I´m staying in a (cheesily named) hostel called ´Jungle Party Hostel´. However, there isn´t much of a ´party´scene here, and come to think of it, no jungle either!!! That´s quite good for me though, as I have had to get up early every morning for Spanish School!!!

I really enjoyed it actually! I studied for 5 hrs each day (well, 4 1/2 if you count the break!) and had one-on-one lessons with a nice Guatemalan lady called Sabrina. My school wasn´t the cheapest, and it cost just over 2 pounds an hour. If I´d have charged that for the tutoring that I did then I´d have never been able to go travelling!
Much time in the lessons was spent laughing at my stupidness! For example:-

"I've got an ache in my man" instead of "I´ve got an ache in my shoulder" (hombre/hombro)!

Teacher:"What did you during your break?"
Me" I went and had a baby" instead of "
Lots of Chicken buses!Lots of Chicken buses!Lots of Chicken buses!

Yes, I did become a bit of a ´bus spotter´for the day!
I went and had a drink" (bebe/beber)!

I think I did learn a lot though. It´s definitely improved my confidence with general confidence with conversation. It was my my last lesson today, but I think I'll do another week in a different town soon.

Hasta luego! xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The front of a backless church!The front of a backless church!
The front of a backless church!

There are lots of falling down/fallen down churches in Antigua because of earthquakes in the past.
La UnionLa Union
La Union

My Spanish School


21st October 2007

My blood pressure
I'm just getting over you walking on hot coals, not a good idea! Stick to salsa dancing and free drinks. Try and have a quiet time, just a paddle in the sea and Spanish lessons!
26th October 2007

Listen to Noodle!!
You be a good girl and listen to Noodle! In fact don't even paddle in the sea. x

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0855s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb