Gringotigua


Advertisement
Published: January 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It´s Friday! Never thought I would feel that way while on a *vacation* but these past two weeks really are more like school-work than playing around. I am looking forward to taking a week off next week to travel around Guatemala- on the plan is the Carribean, up to Tikal ruins, and then over to Xela for some more Volcano climbing. Will start up classes again in beginning of February.

The spanish is getting better though. I am starting to have more and more conversations with the local people at the businesses or restaurants. An American couple I met at a concert this week told me that I have a great accent and they never would have thought I was American. That just means that their spanish is really rough, but I loved the compliment! And I finally remember the words for bridge (el puente) and gossip (chismoso) because obviously you need to use these words all the time!

Also, per Allen´s advice I bought a book to read in Spanish to help me with the language. Couldn´t really dive into the suggested novel by Gabriel Garcia Marquez´s "Love in the Time of Cholera" but instead went for "La gran Gilly Hopkins" which is recommended for readers in the 12 year old range. I´m sure I will need my dictionary a lot.

Antigua´s charm is still suprising me every day, but I am noticing more and more how many Americans are here. I can speak English whenever I want as there is always someone around the corner to converse with... comforting and annoying all at the same time. Last night had dinner with a German man and learned lots about Germany along with a few German words- so on the flip side, the exposure to many international travelers is quite refreshing. Tonight will be the last night at the homestay with Olga and I will miss the family very much. What a great experience- I would recommend it to anyone traveling and wanting to learn the language or just get a better glimpse into the family life in another country.

Will post more pictures next week sometime after the trip this weekend.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb