Antigua


Advertisement
Published: January 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Antigua, GuatemalaAntigua, GuatemalaAntigua, Guatemala

The famous yellow gate. Not too sure why it´s famous.
Hola.
I'm pretty new to this whole thing, so bear with me while I iron out any problems.

I arrived here in Antigua late on Tuesday night. My plane was delayed in miami for three hours due to a malfunctioning headlight. Party time. Miami Airport is a bizarre place. Mostly, I was impressed by the number of Pizza Hut kiosks, and balding men wearing gold chains over their half-unbuttoned Panama shirts. I regret that I did not take photos. But enough about that.

Antigua is a lovely colonial down surrounded by lush volcanoes. One is still active, and I hiked up it during sunset. It was amazing. We saw it shoot lava about 100m in the air. Everyone loves lava and toxic fumes! It's really pretty here, all the houses are pastel colours and the quality of the light really makes them shine. The streets are awkward and crooked, made of stone from at least the 1500s. Antigua was once the capital of all the Central American colonies, until it was completely trashed by an earthquake in the 1700s. This fact makes for many intersting colonial ruins.

I have just finished a three day crash course in Spanish.
more Antigua, Guatemalamore Antigua, Guatemalamore Antigua, Guatemala

cobble stone streets, and pastel houses make for a memorable visit.
A bit of a joke, really. One cannot learn any language in three days. I had a great time though, and now feel a little more competent. For example, I can order vegetarian tacos and beer. good enough. There's also a great market here. Totally hectic, and colourful. Many native Mayans come down from the moutain villages to sell their crafts and produce.

On Sunday I plan to head to San Pedro, on the shores of the lake Atitlan. Muchos gringos, but its still supposed to be very laidback, and unbelievably pretty.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

archwaysarchways
archways

is this photo too dark? on weekdays, local women come here to wash their clothes in the fountain.
sunset at Pacayasunset at Pacaya
sunset at Pacaya

The space between the two mountains is called La Puerta del Sol. Spectacular. The volcano errupted about a week later, and as far as I know, tours are cancelled.
la la lavala la lava
la la lava

some people roasted marshmallows. conveniently, i forgot mine at the hostel.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb