Guatemala


Advertisement
Published: November 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After three solid days with my knees in my mouth crammed in a bus, I've finally made it to Antigua, Guatemala...and it's about as gorgeous as all the guidebooks and postcards make it out to be. I met up with a Scottish guy, Callum, and a guy from California, Eric, and we're travelling together for the meanwhile. We stayed a night in San Salvador (ten dollars a person for a dirty little room in the slums!). It's by far the most crowded city I've seen so far. The sketchiest being Managua, the confusing sprawl of the Nicaraguan capital offering no remorse to the weary travellers stepping off the bus into a dirty market at the edge of town. Had to spend a night there before the early bus, and my hostel owner basically said don't walk anywhere. I went to walk up the street to the bus station to buy a ticket, and he said he'd watch me from the road just in case.

We finally got to Antigua at around noon today, and after touring the market for a while, the Scottish guy Callum suggested hitting a pub for the afternoon. Sounded like the greatest plan I'd ever heard, and just what I'd have expected a true Scot to say. After going through three countries in two days, I'm trying to re-adjust myself (again) to the new currency and exchange rates. Tommorow we'll probably head up one of the three volcanoes that loom over Antigua, but at seven dollars a night, and more importantly, two dollars a beer, we will surely be moving through Antigua rather quickly.

Pura Vida,

Ian

Advertisement



12th November 2006

Keep on Writing
Ian - So great to be able to follow your wonderful travel adventure through your blogs. I love your descriptions of these exotic destinations and of the people that you have met along the way. Am a little concerned that you have not mentioned the Leaf hat for while and wondering if it is still on your head? Also want to let you know that your father has gone too far in his warped birthday extravaganza and is claiming that the stat. holiday on Nov. 13th is in honour of his birthday (really due tho the fact that Rememberance Day fell on a Sat.) Perhaps you can help to set him straight on this. Stay safe and keep on writing. Love Auntie Gail

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb