I hate the interweb


Advertisement
Published: July 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ugh this is getting kind of frustrating. The lack of good internet here is positively killing me. I wrote and ENTIRE blog….like a good page and a half…and the internet cut out so I lost it. LAME. The internet here has been really sketchy lately. I can’t get internet at all on my computer so I can’t upload pictures for you all. The internet went down here for a day or so because of the storm…since then I can’t get my computer to get it. But, tomorrow I'll try and get our resident computer whiz to fix it and get you pics of Anse LaRoche and wet screening...

Anyways, I just came back from the Regatta food festival. They have a live band and some food samples to try. Its pretty sweet. Jason, Anna and I were over there dancing and drinking a few Caribs (the local brew) and people were looking at us like we had 10 heads. I guess its because we are Americans. The locals aren’t exactly friendly. They seem kinda pissed that we are here in the first place. But its all good. We’re broadening their horizons.

Last week was rainy as shit. It finally brightened up by Friday so we could have at least ONE day of work this week. I did wet screening at the big site at Grand Bay. What we do is we have a 5X5 trench, and 4 of those squares we wet screen in order to get all of the little bits that we would normally not collect. They’re called “environmental squares.” So basically I spent most of Friday waist deep in the ocean doing wet screening. It was so nice. I love that I get to do this and call it WORK. Ha. I found some cool stuff while doing the wet screening as well…I found a pendant made out of shell. Apparently they are very rare.

Today we went to Anse LaRoche—one of the most beautiful beaches on Carriacou. We had to hike like 2 hrs to get there…but that’s mostly our director’s fault because she told us to go the wrong way! It was a good hike though, and we finally made it to the beach around noon. The water was really clear and we pretty much had the beach to ourselves. Snorkeling there was really good as well. There was a big rock outcrop and there were reefs all around it that had tons of fish and lobsters and all kinds of cool stuff to look at.

Some of us have to wake up at 5am tomorrow, so I’m goin to bed…I’ll keep you posted!

--ALR


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb