Back to Catalina to Mexico


Advertisement
Published: November 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

My mom and I got up at three o’clock it was still dark and I was tired but I got a doughnut so it was worth it. Then I went to the airport and I got to sleep. My dad picked us up in Los Angeles and took us to the boat. Then we started to sail to Catalina Island. When we got there it took a long time to find an anchorage because it was a holiday.
This morning I blew up the dinghy. I have been asking to drive the dinghy for three months now. Today my dad finally taught me to drive it. Then I went fishing with a lure. I did not catch anything. Then I got small hooks and squid and I caught two fish. At dusk my dad and I went trolling in the dinghy. Trolling is when you get a lure and you put it in the water and motor slowly. After dinner we played my favorite card game hand and foot. After a startling win I read my book report book.
The next morning we set sail at eleven’ o clock for Two Harbors. When we explored the island I saw a one room school house. After a whole lot of exploring my mom and I went snorkeling. I saw some fish that were cool. The water was freezing cold. After a freezing snorkel we played dominoes and I lost.
My dad got up at three’ o clock for a fifteen hour sail. I didn’t do much that day other than learn the daisy chain knot and watch dolphins play. But I saw a bunch of helicopters and army boats they were cool. When we got there it took us along time to find a slip.
Hola from Mexico. We got up at seven’ o clock for a ten hour sail. When we finally got to Ensenada I had to wait for a long time because we needed to get gas and check in. Then when we were settled we went out to dinner and I had tacos. But I got to go swimming at night time in a pool. When we got back to the boat we played hand and foot. I beat my parents. I got to watch a movie for a half an hour because we weren’t plugged in and the inverter was on.
We had to get up at nine and get on a shuttle. Because we just got into Mexico we had to check in with the Mexican government. Then I went swimming and I dove for quarters. When I dried off we went to lunch. Then my dad and I went in the pool again. We went back to the boat and cleaned up. Then we played cards. I almost won but because of some weird rule my dad won. When we were done we went and had dinner. Then we went to the hot tub.
We had to get up early to catch a bus. The bus got us over the border. After the bus dropped us off we got in a rental car and my dad drove us to the airport. My mom and I had to wait for five hours to get on a plane.
I learned a lot of new Spanish words on this trip. Some words leche means milk. Donde es means where is. Bano means bathroom. I also learned that thirteen pesos equals one doller.
After some time at home my dad, Alice, Jason Anna and Nick Brought the boat to Paradise Village.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb