Last minute mission


Advertisement
Published: November 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So my last entry happened last tuesday and I apologize if I left a cliff hanger in your emails without my stories. I got some emails from people who were worried that I had joined a circus or gone off to work in Amsterdam.

Lets thank Davicin for the long list of people I just added to my travel blog. Thanks to you I´m that much closer to a hundred people who read my lame as fucken stories.

So last tuesday I was worried that I wasnt gonna be able to leave mexico cuz my dumb ass left my ticket back in L.A. So after I finished my stories I called fedex and was told I had to make it to Guadalajara before 6pm or I wouldnt have my plane ticket for the next day.

This is the part of traveling that I live for. So I got back to my aunts place packed up my shit and left without saying good bye to anyone. I caught the 2 hour bus to Guadalajara and was on my own to find a fucken address I had no clue where the fuck I was going.

When I arrived to the city I had a 30 pound child on my fucken back, cuz my mom told me to bring as much TEQUILLLA with me to El Salvador. I realized after 20 minutes that I was walking the wrong way and everyone I kept asking for directions seemed like they were purposely getting the fucken tourist lost. I think at some point the lil bro in me wanted to cry until a hailed a cab and was like fuck it you find the fucken address for me. Big fucken mistake. I shouldve known better than to do that.

So after another 30 minutes getting lost so the fucker could make his money we finally got to fedex just before they closed. Then I had to figure out how the fuck I was gonna make it to bus depot to get the hell out of Guadalaja and into Mexico City.

At this point it was 6pm and I managed to cut a deal with the cab driver to take me to the bus depot for $30. So when I get there the bus was leaving in 10 minutes and all the chicken buses had already left so I got stuck paying almost $50 as a student. At that point I was broke and had no way to contact my family in tala or even my mom to let her know I had the ticket. The genius in me was thinking I have to make it to Mexico city and then I´ll figure shit out.

Mind you I had a cell phone with me that could have easily text Dan to let him know I was ok. So I was on the bus for about 7 hours and couldnt sleep.

We got to Mexico City at 1am on wednesday the 8th and I was not about to sleep at the bus depot cuz I wasnt tired yet, so I caught a cab to the airport with the fixed price. Since it was fixed I asked the driver to take me around town to see something even if it was late at night. The guy was cool but really fucken annoying with questions about central america. On this trip I have yet to tell anyone that I´m from the states other than my family I usually say I´m central american.

Anyways the guy took me around to the old historic part of town and I got to see the Oaxacan teachers on strike in their tents, right next to the Palacio de Bellas Artes, I also got to see the cathedral at el Zocalo.
Then it was off to the airport for the next 12 hours. (I dont know if thats anywhere near what Davey spent at the airport when he left from Guadalajara)

It turned out there was no where to store my bag and Taca airlines didnt open till 11am. And ofcourse my flight didnt leave till almost 2pm.

The first few hours went by quick, I met a guy by the name on Mark (I think) from Birmingham, Alabama and was there with his christian church visiting NACHO LIBRE orphans and churches in the middle of no where. After he left I couldnt sleep but I was really tired and was not up to going out to the city with the fat kid on my back.

Needless to say I made it to El Salvador ok and my mom isnt even here. I´ll upload some pics later cuz I just found an internet cafe that charges .80 cents an hour but the keys stick together.

What a fucken tourist.

Advertisement



14th November 2006

Fuckin Tourist
put away the camera!
14th November 2006

Brave little tourist.
You are such the brave little tourist. I love your adventure stories, so full of foul language and color. God, I miss you. I am glad to hear you are OK. Don't forget I want to come explore the world with you. Venus

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb