weeks 3 and 4


Advertisement
Published: September 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This past weekend was quite uneventful, did some exploration of the city and tried a vegetarian restaurant, but it was disgusting. One fourth of the way through my ventures here, I can say I am almost completely comfortable, most of the time. Walking through the busy streets of Santiago; cars honking, people yelling and busily chatting I think I have come to a point of contentment. I love that I can walk down the street and say hello to everyone and they will not give me weird look. I like that everyone says good morning or good evening, its truly refreshing.

One part that I have been growing very sick of is the constant use of white rice in every dish. Everyday for lunch we have white rice, some type of beef and a vegetable medley. Most everything tastes the same to me, but I think I need to try more local restaurants. It could also have to do with my “ dona” which is a maid, usually a live-in. My old dona was in her early thirties and really knew how to cook. The new dona, who lives with us now is just eighteen and starting college in January. At first I thought she might be older than me but now I know she is only a few months older than Amanda ; it feels a little awkward. Her name is Carolina; tall and very thin with beautiful long dark brown hair that she always keeps tied up. She could definitely snag a modeling gig at most agencies in the US, it’s a shame that she has to cooped up in the house all day cooking and cleaning. She is very polite and always in good spirits, she loves to clean it seems. The other day I asked her if she got bored at all with nothing to do but watch TV after her daily work is done she looked at me with a bewildered look and exclaimed “ No, why?”. She did not understand the significance of my question, I suppose that she truly knows anything else though.

Now I am at a month, over a month actually and truly enjoying my time here. Today is September 16, 2008 and really love it here. I feel like things have become much more familiar to me, all senses have adjusted rather than being agitated. The first couple days and weeks even were frustrating but now I have a sense of where things are and how the city works and functions. I must go, off to class!!
CIAO FOR NOW



Advertisement



Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb