weeks 2 & 3


Advertisement
Published: September 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The past two weeks have been full of school and homework! I like most of my classes but they are all with Americans, which means it will that much harder to make Dominican friends. I have made a few, but of course I would like to make many. The campus of the university is beautiful but SO spread out its takes forever to get to one building to the next. It feels so strange to be in a campus that only has around 11,000 students; it really feels like high school. Also every morning we come to school, by foot while almost all the locales are dropped off by their parents. This is another reason I feel that I am in a high school or even elementary.

My classes: I have a basic Spanish class which is required for all foreign students as well as a Political Processes class which is all about DR political norms and culturally driven ideals. I am also taking a Culture and Society class, a short stories class and finally, my favorite, a dance class! I love this class the most we have been learning some merengue and salsa. The dance teacher is a little man who loves to shake his little hips and clap and talks a mile a minute but that certainly is not new. He is a very good teacher and the phrases he teaches are relatively simple. I also might pick up an art class to hopefully make more locale friends.

That’s all for now! CIAO!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.455s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb