away to cuba


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba
March 4th 2005
Published: March 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

How quickly you can change your mind. First, the idea was to go to Egypt but then the perfect trip didn't quite come off the ground and I didn't want too much of a struggle during a holiday where I also need to relax, and plenty of this, after a very hard year. So chatting about alternative destinations with a few friends, with the variables: warm climate, interesting culture, language I speak, not too late to book - up came Cuba. Three days later, and it's booked and I'm as excited as I was about Egypt.

It's weird though to plan a trip without a plan. Where do you start? Flights. Yes, but then there's already the question, where to? and next comes, Visa, accommodation, how well can you travel independently in Cuba, how about the public transport system, money matters and vaccinations. It helps a great deal to know people who've travelled to Cuba before and they were quick to assure me that independant travel is easy, and even cheap if you use casas particulares for accommodation, privately rented rooms.

For a change I relied on my instinct when booking the flight and didn't even compare prices because the one quoted by a human in a shop (a real change for me) sounded very good indeed and I was happy paying it. So, next step. Visa. Touristcard they want, so they say on the forum, but you can only get it if you have 3 nights of hotel accommodation booked. Which we don't. At least the necessary form was available for download at the Cuban Embassy London's website, handy, and clearly explained too. Thanks to another forum, I was assured that the fact that I'm a German citizen in Britain doesn't really matter and I should get a tourist card too.

More difficult was getting to grips with booking a casa particular for 3 nights. I read that those are fine for the tourist card, but I'm not 100% sure, so it'll be interesting to know if there will be difficulties as we arrive. It was difficult though to actually book. I would have been happy enough to phone a casa particular up, but no phone number on all the sites I checked, and attempts at booking didn't come up with a confirmation even after three days, until I found a different site where you actually pay a deposit for a very specific place, and the site already tells you if there is availability on your preferred dates. Very nice, much better and lots of peace of mind. So three nights in Havana are booked and while looking for the best location for a casa particular, I found out that Havana vieja is the really nice bit, Havana central is a bit dodgy, and Miramar is a bit far out. That's about my knowledge of the city, apart from having come across names of some sights which don't yet mean anything to me.

I also found out that you take a taxi from the airport to the accommodation and the price you should negotiate. And that there is a tourist currency equivalent to the US American Dollar, but not quite the Dollar, but the peso convertible. I've also been told that you can easily pay with Euros, but I have pounds, so I still need to figure that out. Also how to get money in Cuba, I really don't want to carry all my cash around with me. US Dollars are not welcome, so I still don't know what to do with my expensively bought US Dollar travellers cheques which have since halfed in value against the pound, but well, one thing at a time.

I also have no idea at all about the rest of Cuba. It looks like a very big country and I heard that Santiago is very different, more African influenced, while the tobacco plantations are in the west. I like the sound of some regional names, and I'm tempted to travel there just for the sound of them. Cienfuego, wow, if that doesn't sound exciting!

And then I came across travelblog while looking for more first hand experience in Cuba. Not much on Cuba here, so I thought I could just as well change it and maybe help people who come across the same questions as I did, and keep it up as a way to log the whole of the trip, plan and actual trip alike. So then, the learning has begun, can't wait to find out more. Any tips and suggestions at this stage are extremely welcome!

Advertisement



6th April 2005

Viva Cuba!
First of all, congratulations on your decision to visit Cuba! I'm sure you will find it a very beneficial experince. It was quite a eye opener for me. Despite that fact that I went the more conventional route, by staying at a resort, I spent most of my days and nights exploring Santiago at my own leisure. I would really recommend visitng Santiago, a city steeped in history and culture. Not only was this the birthplace of the revolution, but it it is also home to Son, and traditional Cuban music. It is a virtual cultural Hot-Spot, not to be missed. There is a definite charm and pulse to this city, where everyone seems to sing and dance. What I really enjoyed about Santiago, was the fact that I was able to meet the people. Seeing as there are only few resorts on the outskirts of town, it was filled mostly with locals. My friends and I would always end up meeting someone on the sreet that was only too happy to serve as a personal tour guide, taking us to clubs and places off the beaten track. Of course, it is only common courtesy to pay them for their help. Remember, however to exercise caution. You are always taking a risk if you put too much faith in strangers. It wasn't so bad for me because I was always with a few other people. - Jenny
14th August 2005

continuation of travel blog
Hi folks, if interested in a very detailed account of how I got on in cuba, please visit my blog: http://cartside.civiblog.org/blog and go to the Cuba section.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb