Cuba Libre


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba » Oeste » La Habana
April 17th 2007
Published: April 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hola!

Well I have survived Cuba as well.

I have just had 10 days in Cuba, and as you would expect I hooked in to the Cuba Libres everyday. I have decided that I may be a rum drinker after all. It was good training for the next 2 weeks.

I was on a tour with about 10 60 plus year olds. Entertaining but not as much fun as the last group. No near misses with flights anyway.

In the group we had a duck who is a travel writer and used to write for Gourmet traveller. I liked her the most!!
Cuba was amazing and most of the time I thought I was in a movie from the 50´s. Everyone talks about the old cars in Havana, I thought I would see a couple but they were everywhere! If it wasn´t an old American car it was an old Russian car. The buildings are all about to fall down but most of the people seem happy.

Our tour guide was great - putting up with the constant complaints from the ducks- legend. Another lady and I kept saying '´you are in cuba'´. One bloke went off because he could not get his preferred brand of coffee??????

The second last night in Havana travel writer and I went our for a feed Adan ended up sitting with 2 British couples. They were good fun. 2 Doctors and 2 surgeons with more money than you can poke a stick at.

The last night I was in town by myself I decided that I would go to the Casa De la Musica in the old town. I was a little nervous to say the least because it did not start til 11pm. Anyway got there and the brits were about to walk in the door. Life savers, so we drank and danced til 4am. I had a great night.

Had a few issues getting to Mexico city last night. I had to buy another ticket in the end, between the Cubans and the Mexicans, not much gets done.

Okay I think that is about it. I am VERY excited about tomorrow. I have not heard or seen any games for the last 10 days. Phone and Internet in Cuba leaves a little to be desired.

I hope all is well with you all at home and work!
Johnno

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb