2 Months And Counting


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba » Matanzas
September 11th 2014
Published: September 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Two Months and Counting (blog post from Kim)



Stan and I are two months into our ten month stay in Cuba, and I believe we are settling into a healthy and blessed routine, blessed by God, by your love and prayers and by the friendship of the people here. We are quite content at the Matanzas seminary, getting to know the kitchen staff, the men who have duty at the entrances and the other support staff. I am still practicing names, but today I got 100% when I remembered one of the workers’ names correctly. (I had been getting 50% at best for a while, and that was on guesses.) I have been able to help wash dishes and to work a bit in the organic garden. I would call it a small farm actually, and now they are harvesting aselga (a delicious green that can be eaten raw or cooked) and planting tomatoes. I am sad to say that mangos are about done for the season. They are one of my favorite foods here. Stan says they are like fresh peaches soaked in sugar.

We are also settling into life at the First Baptist Church of Matanzas, and I have been given some wonderful opportunities to do movement, dance and drama for the worship services, and it has re-awakened that call in my life. It feels such a gift to express myself in that way. I thank God for opening that door again for me to do that in church.

Stan and I have also enjoyed working with other churches and retreats. We have become reacquainted with old friends and made several new ones. I have been blessed to witness the passion, dedication, and perseverance of a faithful and vibrant community of believers in Cuba. It has been as if a powerful but gentle tide is sweeping us into the rhythms of their passion, dedication and perseverance. Sometimes I wish the tide were literal because it would cool me off from the intense sun and heat. I pray to be able to grow in my understanding of how I can support the Christian witness of the people here, and I am grateful and give glory to God for the flood of grace that continues to flow over me and fill my soul. (Notice the second image of water? I think I need someone to spray a hose on me!)

I want to thank each and all of you for your continuing prayers. Our health continues to be excellent considering the continuing adaptation to the climate. And our sense of support from you is nourishing and deep. I also want to let you know that we don’t always receive emails; the technology here is hit and miss. If you have written and haven’t heard an answer in a week or so, please send it again. Thanks for all the words of encouragement and love.



My next blog will be about the different ways I am reminded of Harry Potter here. As a preview, the streets here are pretty skinny and often there are big buses that barely fit barreling down Milanés or Contreras (two of the main streets in town). I usually hold my breath when I see one and think of how handy Ernie and the Night Bus would be here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



11th September 2014

Kairos in Greenville
Kim, I have been missing you. I have re written the "Kairos" script for twelve and have been directing it here at North Greenville University. Tonight is opening night and then I head north to help move Mikah to Oregon. She has taken a job as Assistant Charge Scenic artist at Oregon Shakespeare Festival. Enjoy your news from Cuba. Regards and love to the brothers and sisters there. Doug

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb