Santiago de Cuba...not a great first impression!


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba » Este » Baracoa
July 5th 2008
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I just spent 2 days in Santiago de Cuba...didn't like it from the moment I arrived at 6:30 in the morning after a freezing 15 hour bus ride with the craziest soundtrack ever (courtesy of the very flirtacious bus driver). At least the music he played provided some comic relief...think BeeGees, Michael Jackson, weird electronic reggae, very sad boleros, and of course plenty of salsa.
The upside of Santiago was the family i stayed with. They were wonderful and their casa was just beautiful. I ended up spending most of my time with them in their home...practicing my spanish and taking turns informally interviewing each other about our respective countries/cultures. I was sick (sore throat and cough) and just didn't feel like dealing with the very aggressive jineteros (gigilos and prostitutes) who were everywhere throughout the city.
I arrived today to a very beautiful, geographically isolated coastal town of Baracoa. From the moment I arrived I really like it here....mas tranquilo. The family is also very nice. I think I will extend my stay from 2 to 4 nights.
Ok....time is up on my internet card! Will write more later. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



8th July 2008

Love the Blog
I am glad that you are enjoying yourselves. I love this Blog, it is so neat. Stay safe and keep filling us in. Stay away from the jigalos! LOL! I will check up on your blog soon! I worry about you! XOXO

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb