Welcome to America... or not?


Advertisement
Published: October 10th 1992
Edit Blog Post

October 1992
I was not able to select "1993" on the Diary Date, so 1999 will have to do...

The departure from CR was uneventful, we took a Continental American flight at 6:00 AM, and I was carrying with me a “baguette” and Pate to ensure we would have plenty of food during the journey… I did notice there were not any chickens or any other animals on the flight as it is customary during domestic flights. 

Did watch some TV and listen to the radio to entertain myself…. Then finally we arrived at the HOSTON International Airport in USA – wow!  I waited my time inline to get out of the 737 Boing and make it to the Immigration agents… I was not sure where to go because I had a sealed manila envelope giving to me by the US consulate in Costa Rica for my legal entry but did not have a visa, in any case I waited (again) in line to finally take my turn at the ‘ventanilla’, the US Agent asked “Paper” – I just gave him my envelope and try to explain but he took off and signaled me to follow.  Finally all the documentation and requirements were completed and we were now able to continue on outside. The first thing I noticed was the sweetness of the air, I keep breathing time and time again… yes the air is sweet and I am not imagining things.  From here it was a short flight to Austin and he I am.   It has been a good time, I have meet many people and discovered that here in America people are the same as other places around the world.  I have some neighbors that I have waved at them hello for the pass 12 years and still cannot get a reply back… maybe they have not seem me around the neighborhood (I doubt it!), maybe they are just shy or can be just that they do not like me… but it is hard to believe someone out there does not like me… in any case, I have seen the same behavior in many other places around the world (Costa Rica, Guatemala, Panama, Mexico, Italy and specially France, the French need to relax a bit and not be sooooo ‘french’).  I guess what I want to say is that there are plenty of good people over here as in where you are today and just watch out for those unfriendly people, don’t let them take your joy away… or take some solof (just kidding).

Any ways, thank you all for letting me part of your community, for showing me your culture, art and way of life – thank you – This year I have decided to become an US Citizen, I figured… I have to pay the taxes I want to be able to vote.  Maybe one day I will go back to Costa Rica… I do not know… what I know is that I called Texas my home and my children are America’s future.

 

In God we trust

 

 

Ps. I hope you know I was just kidding about the chickens and “baguette” in the airplane.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb