Two weeks to explore Costa Rica with Russ...


Advertisement
Published: October 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, seeing and experiencing Costa Rica has been a goal of mine for a few years now. Who knew it would happen with a Kiwi boyfriend who fell into my life so quickly, who also was planning to see this beautiful country. I highly recommend any of you seizing opportunites like this when they present themselves, since this was an awesome journey. It was an amazing two weeks, filled with beautiful scenery, lots of wildlife, fabulous fellow travellers, great food, surf, sun, fun, and love too 😊 Cheesy I know, but it definately added to the experience. See it all for yourself 😊
It was a first time for me travelling abroad with a boyfriend. I've decided I like it and plan to do more of it in the future. It will have to be a new boyfriend though since Russ will be moving on to Europe now. It was our goodbye trip. It was a fun way to say goodbye. So now onwards and forwards we must go.
Next stop, Houseboating in Shushwap, BC, Canada. Then exploring Chicago, USA, then... we'll see... Enjoy the photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 67, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Russ's bar overlooking SanJoseRuss's bar overlooking SanJose
Russ's bar overlooking SanJose

This was at the roof top patio of our hostel in SanJose. Better at night :)
Cool Pool at San Jose HostelCool Pool at San Jose Hostel
Cool Pool at San Jose Hostel

This view was from the roof top patio of our hostel in SanJose. It was a cute place but I forget the name of it...
Busy Street in San JoseBusy Street in San Jose
Busy Street in San Jose

A Saturday in central San Jose They love their microphones there :)
Lush Country sideLush Country side
Lush Country side

We took a 3hr trip on a local bus to Manuel Antonio National Park from San Jose which was $2. It ended up being one of my favorite parts of the trip bc of the people/cultural experience and the scenery. Beautiful!
Russ and my first bus rideRuss and my first bus ride
Russ and my first bus ride

We really enjoyed it! I felt panicked at first when we pulled out of San Jose with an 8yr old boy still walking up and down the aisle selling needles and thread. I thought the bus driver forgot about him. Then I learned that this is normal and he got off 10 mins down the road, when another man got on and sold us fudge... and this continued. It was very interesting.
From our Quepos Hotel DeckFrom our Quepos Hotel Deck
From our Quepos Hotel Deck

Once we arrived in Quepos we packed around the town exploring hotel options. It was VERY hot so we finally worked as a team. I sat and watched the packs :) while Russ compared a couple hotels. It only made sense since he was the spanish speaker. Man was he a life saver!' Check out the electricals of the street and our hotel. It gets even sketchier in the shower, where there are open, live wires leading to the faucete where the electrical water heater is...
Oh DeerOh Deer
Oh Deer

We first saw this odd couple... Young Pocaterra looking woman with Mr.Century. I'm sure it was his granddaughter showing him around :) Then we saw this deer
Cool MonkeyCool Monkey
Cool Monkey

We saw 4 different types of monkeys this day, 2 sloths, a racoon thingy, guanas... I'm sure I felt a sea snake :) It was a very cool day.
Monkey TheifMonkey Theif
Monkey Theif

This monkey ran onto the beach and stole a ladies apples. It was absolutely hilarious. They are SOOO fun to watch.


16th January 2006

Hpoing to have as much fun
Great pics thanks I'm going this spring for the first(but not last)time.And I know its going to be a blast, I hpoe to do some surfing, and fishing there .Thanks again for the great pics

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb