Pack My Bags, I'm Going Home


Advertisement
Published: September 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My Trip Home

We went from Jaco -> San Jose, got our flight to Ft. Lauterdale, FL, and after an hour layover we hopped on our final flight to PHL. Got home around 1230AM. Best trip EVER.

Bienvenidos!!Bienvenidos!!Bienvenidos!!

The sign at the hotel.
The hotel was fun. They had a swim up bar and drinks were included. Not much nature wise, besides some good beach time and a lot of Ctenosaurs. It was a great wind-down for my journey in Costa Rica. Got myself some cuban cigars and some local liquors and headed home today. We arrived at Philly International around 11pm EST. And now, let the planning begin for my next adventure...

Hopefully this journal gave an idea of what my life was like for the past few months. It was hard and easy at the same time, it was tough and it was worth every moment. I got to do research and have fun in a tropical country. You really can't beat that, when your job is to travel and see amazing things. I'm really glad I picked the path I did.

Now, I'm back in the states and have to get started on my last year of attaining my Masters Degree. I should be back in CR in the summer but who knows where I'll be before then...

PS - So, where is matt now? Stay tuned to find out...


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Random Flower Close-UpRandom Flower Close-Up
Random Flower Close-Up

The camera actually took a close up photo. This is a first in a long while. Maybe the humidity effects are finally wearing off...
Ctenosaur similsCtenosaur simils
Ctenosaur simils

A ctenosaur iguanid, spotted along a road on the west side of Costa Rica. They grow up to have gray and black striped bodies.
Ctenosaur simils, Part 2Ctenosaur simils, Part 2
Ctenosaur simils, Part 2

This one is a little older, note the browner coloration and spinier appearance.
The Drinks Were Watered Down, I Tell Ya!!The Drinks Were Watered Down, I Tell Ya!!
The Drinks Were Watered Down, I Tell Ya!!

They really were. But the swim up bar was a nice thing to have. The hotel was ocean side too, so the Pacific was right there.
Hotel SceneryHotel Scenery
Hotel Scenery

Palms everywhere, low cut lawns, it was catered to the max. Very nice relaxation place after my 3 months of roughing it in the wilderness...
The PlayaThe Playa
The Playa

The beach beyond the hotel, yes my friends, that is the Pacific Ocean you see off to the side there. And frankly, I liked the Caribbean sea better. Much clearer.
Some Crocs Below, Swim At Your Own RiskSome Crocs Below, Swim At Your Own Risk
Some Crocs Below, Swim At Your Own Risk

These guys were about 20ft long at least and nuts. This bridge has been featured on Animal Planet, I think Jeff Corwin went there once. Lots of crocs, huge ones too. Amazing.
Waterfalls and MountaintopsWaterfalls and Mountaintops
Waterfalls and Mountaintops

Sort of, we didn't get close but this is a decent enough shot. Looks amazing, maybe one day I can get up there to see it up close.
An Adult CtenosaurAn Adult Ctenosaur
An Adult Ctenosaur

This is a full grown, striped and spiny-tailed Ctenosaur. Saw this dude on the grounds of a cool hotel on the top of a mountain on the Pacific side.
Anyone Here With Arachnophobia?Anyone Here With Arachnophobia?
Anyone Here With Arachnophobia?

Lots of spiders, but don't worry. These orb spiders eat only mosquitos. So they, like other spiders, are very beneficial down in Costa Rica.
More SceneryMore Scenery
More Scenery

A shot from that same hotel, overlooking the Pacific Ocean.


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb