Dia de Las Iguanas


Advertisement
Published: September 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

No Laughing MatterNo Laughing MatterNo Laughing Matter

This is a laughing falcon, a common predator of lizards and snakes in Costa Rica. It's call sounds like a derisive laugh in the hah-hah fashion...
So it happened. I finally caught an iguana. Not only that, but it came up to ME!!! Soo sweet. Now more doors have opened for my study. I've been here 2 months and only seen basilisks. With the hope of more iguanas, I might be able to compare the two like I had originally hoped.

This is all pending that I find more.... (I hope so).

I am really tired of basilisks, they can all go as far as I'm concerned, bring on the iguanas. I saw a cock fight today (not our fault or request, twas a miscommunication). And saw another student behead a chicken. Now that was strange. I know I could never do that myself but I can still eat the resulting soup. Go figure...

Started/continued LOTR trilogy, now that Potter is long done. It is much slower reading but still interesting.

PS - FINALLY!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

When the Ants FailedWhen the Ants Failed
When the Ants Failed

This mantid was eating the ants that were protecting this plant. So basically, the little ants were marching straight to untimely death. Talk about convenience for the mantid...
Meet Chase, My Number OneMeet Chase, My Number One
Meet Chase, My Number One

Number one iguana, that is. This is the little dude that ran right up to me, the first iguana on my study. Too bad it took 2 months just to find one of these guys...


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb