Manana


Advertisement
Published: September 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Watch Your Step!Watch Your Step!Watch Your Step!

This is the hognose viper. This little guy is less than a foot long and would have been impossible to see if it were in the grassy brush on the trailside. Not necessarily fatal, but still could be a nasty bite.
I'm drinking tang-quila and all is well with that. Still got some latent problems with my past, but I'm getting through them I think. Being away helps so much.

Cariari is a definite: this Thursday. Oh yeah, read the first Potter book (Year 1) today. Have to say, I liked it. Good thing I got 4 more with me to be able to read. Between my outings I went right to the book.

Today we went off the grounds to someone's property. The guy was deciding on whether or not to turn his property into a reserve or logging it. The latter would make him a lot richer. But he was cool and gave us a tour. I correctly identified a hognose viper (Porthidium nasutum) so that was cool.

When we got back, there was a terciopelo (Bothrops asper) right on the front lawn!! Got some nice pics and I got to save it. Took it out to the second lagoon area with a butterfly net. Nothing like knowing that a fine layer of plasticky mesh is all that separates me from imminent death.

I don't have much more to say, just lost in thought about
The StreamThe StreamThe Stream

This stream was on the property we visited. It was really cool with mini-falls and everything. Gotta love the scenery at this place.
my past. I'm working to make this go away though...

PS - Help me...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Another Shot of the StreamAnother Shot of the Stream
Another Shot of the Stream

Very cool. Nuff said.
A Terciopelo and a Butterfly NetA Terciopelo and a Butterfly Net
A Terciopelo and a Butterfly Net

This is the tercio that I had to rescue and take to the lagoon area. Probably a juvenile male, only about half grown at most (it was around 2 feet long).
The Hognose in FullThe Hognose in Full
The Hognose in Full

Another shot of the hognose after we "coerced" it into the middle of the trail.


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb