Border Crossing Take Two


Advertisement
Published: July 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I finally found a hotel where I can actually sleep for 8 hours! It took a month, but here in the tiny town of La Cruz on the Costa Rica border with Nicaragua, there is a hotel I would recommend called La Mirada, right near the park. Once again I am the only tourist in town and the hotel staff is at the ready to serve my needs even though I have none except to watch soccer, movies and sleep. I stayed another day here just to relax for awhile before I head to unknown territory tomorrow - the Nicaraguan border. I have heard that the officials are pretty hilarious in their power trippingness. It should be fun to see what kind of rigamarol I get put through. I don't have my surfboard anymore, it went home with the girls three days ago. So I am travelling light with just the small backpack, can't imagine them getting too excited about that. It has reached the point of being in a foreign country where the brain begins the process of rejecting the other language and starts to pine for things from home - like the English language. So I have been talking to the television. There is a channel that has this ladies face frozen on there, like the signal is stuck or something. It was on there last night and again this morning. It is a blond lady, about 40, smiling at something off camera. Weird I know, but she is actually a pretty good listener. I will take her picture when I get back to the room and post it here. I haven't figured out a name for her yet, maybe if I stayed another day. I am in between soccer games right now, I have never watched this much soccer in my life. It is pretty cool, relaxing. But it really gets to be alot of the same stuff and I have been wondering why it is so huge everywhere but in our country. Not really sure, might have something with how mundane life must be on a regular basis down here. I mean for fun the guys come to the park and sit on benches to stare at the pavement. Or they get to laugh at Gringos who walk around their town. I guess they think it is funny that someone would want to come here and not sit on the benches and stare at the pavement. What a weirdo that gringo must be! Funny stuff. The ladies are pretty cool here though, if you need any real answers go to the women. If you want funny lies, the guys come through every time. It actually is fun to ask them things to see what kind of B.S. they come up with. One thing you will never hear is "I don't know". They live by the creed that if you don't know, it doesn't really matter, make it up. The taxi drivers are the best. They will tell you that hotels don't exist or that the next town is unreachable by bus. The best one in this town was when I asked the guy at the grocery store if there was a hotel in town. He looked puzzled and explained that there were no hotels here. I went next door and the lady pointed down the street. Three minutes away I found the La Mirador. I took the guy a brocure so that he would know a bit more about his town.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb