Hello from Sunny Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: March 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dear Friends,

Greetings from a sunny Costa Rica. I apologise for the abominable lack of communication so far but please know that I have thought of you all often and have a very good excuse. I spent the best part of last month in the jungle on a project site. We were building a water system and ranger station.Where there any toilets? No. Where there any showers? No. How many mosquito bites did you get per day? 30. Therefore was it likely to come accross electricity or a computer. Unfortunately no. Did I enjoy it all thoroughly. Yes!!

At the moment I am at fieldbase (a gorgeous farm in the middle of mountains, next to Volcan Turrialba where I am in a dormitory with seven girls) and have spent the last two weeks driving around in the Landrover doing food drops. It is such a beautiful country and I have been so lucky to see so many parts of it so far!

I have met some amazing people and learned the finer points of 1: How to cook on a trangier 2. How to build a bed from bamboo 3. How not to feel awful after wearing the same clothes for 7 days. Life skills I tell you. In addition I have learned how to dig foundations, mix cememnt, lay bricks, and even work on a roof!

I have started my swimming training in a dire effort not to drown when I swim the Channel relay in July. Having not had alcohol since January (what a change), and consuming mainly porridge, tuna and rice, I feel quite healthy! I can honestly say I am probably having the time of my life.

I hope that everyone is well.

Much love to you all, enjoy the photos!
Dani x


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



27th March 2007

Sexy Girl in the Jeep
Call off the search everyone!!!!! So glad you are having a wonderful time - we miss you! You look so well and you are doing such a good thing out there! So proud of you! Hope you havent lost anything and are keeping a good diary to fill us in on all the adventures. Big hugs babes J xxx
27th March 2007

So no hair dryer either....
Dani, Looks and sounds so cool you might just have convinced me to chuck it all in and leave the rat race for good, you even looked like you might have survived intact (no air brushing on these photos I take it) :-). Keep the stories coming they are way more entertaining than our lives, see you when you get back up north. Cheers, Darren
28th March 2007

Go Girl!!
Wow Dani it sounds amasing. I believe it is a beautiful country. But to leave your nail polish and eye liner behind and do what you are doing is brilliant. An example to all of us Londoners in our office jobs. Enjoy the rest of it! Gabs
28th March 2007

Go sister
Hey Dan, good for you sister. Sounds like you are having a blast. Like the entering quote as well !! All well in London, being dull beanies compared to the costa rican type ! Stay well, Ro x
28th March 2007

You always amaze me!
Hi Dani, your experience sounds wonderful! Sounds like you're really enjoying yourself and doing a whole lot of good. Let me know when you find your way out to NYC so you, Wazza and I can hang!
29th March 2007

no booze?
no booze. I can handle the mossies, can handle the sleeping on the mats and sleeping with the locals. (you know what I mean). But no booze. Aish too much suffaring.

Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1869s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb