Pura vida!


Advertisement
Published: May 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

In the plazaIn the plazaIn the plaza

in San Jose
I decided to sign up for an organized tour for my first trip to Costa Rica (CR) because I wanted to see many areas in the country and experience nature. I chose the company Costa Rica Expeditions (CRE) because of their ecotours and they have a strong conservation philosophy and strategic lodges.

I arrived late at night and had great support at the San Jose airport from CRE. There was a mass of people right at the airport exit and the CRE guide pushed me and my luggage right through.

First night and last night I stayed at Parque del Lago in San Jose . CRE includes these nights in the tour and I’m not sure why this location is chosen. The hotel was okay and modern, although little things annoyed like the fact that the room the last night seemed to be a lower quality; I could not find an outlet to plug in the coffee maker in the morning and the bathroom had a lot of defects. I know the hotel has wireless access (so does the terminal in the San Jose airport), but I did not have my laptop so I didn’t try it. One of my tour companions had a wireless phone and he said he could not access the wireless in the hotel.

First morning of the tour we all met at the hotel. There are four of us - me, Regina, Marc & Sharon. We were met by our naturalist guide/driver for the following five days - Omar Murillo. Omar drives his own van and has been with CRE for many years. He studied and worked in the US and is very at ease with Americans. Having Omar made the entire trip worthwhile. Most of the guides we met have been with CRE long-term which helps you enjoy it more; I like the idea of doing business with a company that has happy, satisfied employees. To a person the CRE employees spoke very highly of the company.

If I went back to CR I would try to use Omar individually or request him if I was going through CRE. Omar is primary with CRE, but if he is not busy with them he will do services on his own. His website is Arakari.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb