High Water


Advertisement
Published: January 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We spent the rest of our trip in Tortuguero doing next to nothing. I have no idea how they consider this work, because it truly is a paid vacation in paradise. I will ask time and time again to put on this assignment. Our last day we had one last gourmet meal-which by the way, does NOT happen to me here. I am used to simple, cheap casados and the usual comidas tipicas that are found in nearly every restaurant down here. To be treated so well is a bit overwhelming. Lounging by the pool and taking walks on the black sand beach is definitely the easiest job I have ever had. I felt guilty accepting a tip from the clients, because I truly believe that I had just as good of a time as they did. We took a motor boat an hour and a half up the Rio Tortuguero before reaching the small village of Parismina, basically a jumping off point from civilization to Tortuguero. We enjoyed one final Imperial with our clients, then took the long, bumpy bus ride back to Siquirres. Alejandro and Andy went on to their town of Turrialba, and I hitched a ride with an 18 wheeler up to Cairo (sorry mom, you can forget that part). Everyone but my Chilean friend was gone for the evening to celebrate a birthday in Turrialba, so I had the cabin to myself. I caught up on my reading as torrential rains pounded methodically on the tin roof perched inches above my top bunk. Some of the best sleep I have had the whole trip. I did not realize that while I was gone, it rained nonstop on the Carribean slope, and the company cancelled all trips for a few days, because the rivers are far too dangerous for commercial trips. I decided to catch my free breakfast at the lodge while I could, then hop on a bus for a two hour ride to San Jose. I wandered the city for a few hours, taking in the sights and gaurding my back relentlessly. The city really is a beautiful place in its own respect, it is just very intense and loud, so you must take it in small doses. I am staying at the Costa Rica Backpackers Hostel, lounging around, reading, and interacting with other travelers for the evening. Tomorrow I will take a taxi to the airport, meet up with Dad, then drive several hours to the coast for a fishing tournament....

Pura Vida

Brian

Advertisement



29th January 2006

Brian~ so jealous of u right now, glad to hear that ur doing well, miss ya lots Ashley

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb