First Full Day in CR


Advertisement
Published: January 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was my first full day in Costa Rica. It has definitely been an experience. Of course the morning has to start on a slightly bad note because of my forgetfulness. I for some reason didn't think I needed to bring a alarm clock. So I had no way of waking myself up. Every time I would wake up during the night/morning, I thought for sure it was past 7 AM and I was going to be late. However, my internal clock somewhat works and I was able to get up on my own. Thank goodness! The rest of the day consisted of orientation and a couple tours.

We went on a tour of San Jose learning more about the history and various places in the city center. I was surprised by the amount of garbage throughout the streets and sidewalks. And then there was the sidewalks/gutters. For a clumsy person like myself, it was an accident waiting to happen. There were large holes throughout the sidewalks and the gutters were very deep. I definitely want to explore downtown San Jose more throughout the rest of the month.

Our next tour was at Britt Coffee. The guides were very entertaining. The tour was more of a performance rather than another lame farm tour. It was interesting to see how coffee came from the plant to the cup. Then I got my first taste of Costa Rican food. I was thoroughly surprised. As a picky eater, I am always cautious of new food, but it was very good. I am excited to try more!

As for pictures, I completely forgot my camera in my room this morning. So watch for the next blog for some pictures!

Advertisement



6th January 2009

Buenos Noches
Hola Ali: Como estas: We loved hearing about your first day, but you're a farm girl right, you should have no trouble waking up early. Congrats on trying new food and coffee. Remember your camera tomorrow. We want to see pictures
7th January 2009

Waiting for Photos
We want to see you in the pix Ali, the kids really liked reading about your day.
8th January 2009

Weather
I need to hear about the weather. Or, maybe I don't! It's freezing up here. How warm is it there? Enjoy every moment of your adventure. Be safe.

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.041s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb