The Drug Smuggler


Advertisement
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 328 - Saturday 23 August

Today we finally leave South America after 5 months and head to Mexico. First off though we have a stop off in Costa Rica. As we hadn't got back last night until 4 am by the time I was up and packed it was time to go to the airport.

We were in the queue at check in when the police came over and started asking loads of questions. How long have we been in Ecuador, where have we been, where did we stay, where are we going. They also looked at all our stamps in our passports then asked us to leave the line. They want to search our bags. They must think were drug smugglers or something but its ok I've nothing to hide. They only opened my rucksack and took the top couple of things out so it seemed a bit pointless.

Five minutes before we were due to board the plane there was an announcement over the tannoy then I heard my name. As the announcement had all been in Spanish I hadn't been listening so went over to the desk to ask what they wanted. They want to do a security check on my bag. They've already done that once today, whats going on. I actually got a little nervous, even though I've nothing to hide speaking to the guys who'd been caught smuggling drugs in San Pedro prison this was the time they'd realised they were screwed. Maybe Russ is short of money and has hidden some in my bag.

So whilst everybody else started boarding the plane I was led away through the double doors away from the nice plush departures area to a bland concrete section of the airport. It was actually pretty interesting as we walked inside the baggage area. I've always wondered what goes on when your bag leaves the conveyor belt. As I'd suspected theirs lots of dogs behind the scenes sniffing the bags as they come through. Mine was waiting on a table with a couple of big guards behind it. They opened it up and took a few things out from the top like the police had done earlier then said ok and led me back onto my plane. What was all that about.

Once I was onboard we took off and a few hours later I was in Costa Rica. Well what do I think of Costa Rica, its hard to know I only stayed in the airport. After a few hours wait I flew to Mexico. San Jose airport seems expensive though and there were a few nice girls working in the airport shops so maybe one day on another trip i´ll return.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb