Cartago


Advertisement
Published: August 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Last night around 8:30 pm, i started walking with my host family, and i kept walking and walking and walking, and 5 hours, 23 kilometers, and an entirely different province I was in Cartago, violating one of my most ethical values. I was in a church praying after chasing the virgin mary, or chasing the faith as they sort of call it. Even though, I didn´t see the point in walking 23 kilometers, it was extremely impressive. Imagine a quarter of the US. Population converging on washington D.C. over the course of 2 days and walking to annapolis. Thats pretty much the same affect, when 1.5 million costa ricans converged on the capital and walked to cartago. There were literally hundreds of thousands of people just spewing from the streets to Cartago, I´d never seen anything like it. Í attempted to take some pictures, but they didn´t turn out to stellar. So you´ll just have to take my word for it. Got to bed around 3 am, and was up at 8. I´m not that tired now, but I can tell you that i´m definitely going to need a siesta later today, possibly during jorge´s phonetics class.

So you know how in good old binghamton, ny, radio stations have a bad habit of replaying the same songs over and over again, until they´ve been beaten into a pulp. Well, Costa Rica makes the states look good, because there is this one song, no matter where I go, or what time it is, it´s always playing. Galli galli gasssssssssssolinaaa. thats what they sing for the entire song. And the artists name is daddy yankee, to top it off.

Got a solid B+ on the first exam. Nothing special but we´ll take it, especially since i´m understanding all the material.

Got my trip all planned for august 12th, booked a charter boat for deep sea fishing out of the port of quepos. Going after some marlin, sail fish, mai mai, wahoo, the works! Its gonna be sweeter than anything farneti´s ever done.

Just got word that I´m going to be TA-ing 2 chemistry classes next semester. A section of Organic and a section of Gen Chem, not so thrilled about the gen chem or the fact that i´ll be working 8 hours a week, but i´ve never had a job at college before, besides working a concert once per semester. It´ll be interesting if i can remember anything from gen chem, lol.

NOt much else to report. Peace!

-Lukeos

Advertisement



2nd August 2005

galli galli gasolina
believe or not i've been hearing that song since some of my friends went to the diminocan republic for spring break. it does suck
2nd August 2005

grrrr....
I resent the 'it's gonna be sweeter than anything farneti's ever done' comment!!

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb