Three Month Holliday


Advertisement
Published: April 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

In January of 2007, I quit my job as the Paddlesports Buyer for Nantahala Outdoor Center in Western North Carolina and moved to Boone, NC. Ostensibly, this was to pursue some personal goals and professional opportunities which included aquiring work with a non-profit organization called Samaritan's Purse.
However, I quickly found out that 6-7 years of retail experience and an undergraduate degrees in Communications and Theology wasn't quite the experience they were looking for!
Meanwhile, I had applied to Graduate School at Pepperdine University in Malibu, CA for a Master's Degree in Dispute Resolution. At first this was just a back-up plan, but I soon came to view it as my first choice overall.
By the middle of March, nothing had come of the Samaritan's Purse effort, but I was accepted by Pepperdine to enroll in August of 2007. Facing the prospect of four months of working at McDonald's or some other similar career move, I decided it would be better to attend Spanish Language School in Costa Rica for a couple of months prior to Grad School.
With my lovely parents in support, and as a wonderful bonus to this plan, offering to include me in a month-long trip to Europe they were planning to take later in the summer, I embarked on my fortuitous Three Month Holliday.
This Journal is the account of those travels....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb