que paso


Advertisement
Published: July 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Unfortunately, my farneti jokes are coming to an end because this marco´s kid is a freaking yahoo and a half and a way easier target. Holy Christmas I can go on about him. Anyway, I mentioned before how he insists on being called Marcos, so he gets the total latino experience. The kid is from Long Island and is short the entire suit of spades in a deck of cards. Well he keeps asking me, ¨luke, Luke you just gotta show me how the ATM works, I so don´t have any colones" (except when he says it, imagine a cross between arnold swartzennagger and "Beans" from even stevens and you get the same effect), well anyway so i´m like mark ( i always call him Mark, since I know it will ruin his "Costa Rican" experience; I know I know, its not like he gets to live with a Costa Rican Family, eat costa rican food everday and talk spanish 24/), I say to him, Just get me after classes and I´ll take you. Opps, i fogot to mention Mark only has classes till 3 whereas I have classes until 5. Looks like someone´s gonna be waiting a long time (Big smile followed by a chuckle fom Jeff).
So las night I went and signed up for a months worth of dance lessons in downtown Desampardos... I´m trying to think of way to describe how comical it was but here goes: So it was raining cats and dogs and a few penguins, and we had to walk 15 minutes just to get to the dance place, so we all show up soaking wet. Now a key ingredient here is that, i can´t dance and put on top of that a pair of wet size 13 sneakers on a 6´2 white boy, give him a 4´11 fat costa rican lady, and the tango and you´ve got yourself a good idea of how the evening went. On the bright side the teacher was damn good looking and i learned a little merenge, cumbia and tango. Needless to say, i´m going back next week for some more.
So my buddy jeff is putting my stories to shame. Poor guy got 10 stitches after his dog attacked him and a few days before his host brother took him to a street fighting class in downtown San Jose..
I´m going to a volcano this weekend and to the beach to fish, got my rod this morning and a few lures, not really sure what catches fish down here so wé´ll give it a whirl. Alright my time is up i gotta study. I´ve been enjoying the comments.
love you mom and dad and linds.

hasta luego
luke

Advertisement



14th July 2005

ya'know
Well, it all sounds well and good, but I wonder where people like ANDY fit into these stories. Obviously, you have forgotten your roots. For shame young man. Furthermore, i question your capacity to thoroughly enjoy another country. With your ethnocentric view of the world, it is likely that you wouldn't appreciate the finer points of Costa Rica (or The Rich Coast for you) such as how to tie a mango to a wallabee. Anyways, keep up the good par work. Hugs and shark rockets, Ben
14th July 2005

blog response #4
"marcos" is a tool your dance instructor is actually a man you should take jeffs advice and learn some street fighting - i recommend learning the "haduken" and "hurricane kick" as early as possible good luck with stuff gid
14th July 2005

Lukey!!!!! I kept getting these alerts for your blog in my email and I thought it was junkmail -- but I just figured it out so thats why I hadn't left you any messages until now. Anyways, your entries are hillaaaarious... it sounds like you're having an interesting time! I can't wait to keep reading. I'm gonna be in Binghamton next week and I'm sad you won't be there :( oh well... I hope you continue to have fun and dance with little costa rican women! and ps, quit hating on Mike! (haha jk, he deserves it!)
14th July 2005

why you gotta hate?
yah so i finally found out about this dumbass "blog" shit and its riddled with farneti insults. you know what i have to say about that? im dating your cousin. biotch. hope youre havin fun in your stupid costa rica. its so stupid there. youre stupid
15th July 2005

Fishing
If you fish from shore, try any natural bait that you can find, crabs, clams, mussels, sand worms, etc. See what othter people are fishing with. Buy a big knife, its good for fishing and you won't have to take street fighting lessons. Also, try not to fall in the volcano and don't forget your bug spray and camera this time! ps Its safe to come home, the firewood is all done.
15th July 2005

Love You
Hi Love, Just saying hello now that Daddy got the computer fixed - maybe he is more technologically proficient than we think! Anyways, I am impressed that he did it. Sounds like you are having the adventure of a lifetime. What stories you will have to tell. We wait anxiously each day for your blogg. We have seem Lin and Jim everyday for dinner this week and they are going home this morning. We had a lot of laughs and much talking. Tonight the Bosworths are coming for dinner. Seems like all I have done lately is have company for dinner. I helped Lindsay clean her apartment on Tuesday. It was really dirty. I spent the entire day scrubbing the kitchen cabinets. I am going up with her again on Sunday to help her paint her bedroom. Daddy has begun shearing and I know you are disappointed that you are not here to help. You will get over it I am sure! WEll gotta go and finish the potato salad I am making for dinner tonight. Have you eaten anything really different yet? We love you and miss you. How is your Spanish coming along? Are you getting more fluent? Hugs and Kisses...Mom

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb