Day 19 - Dancing Without the Stars


Advertisement
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Future Salsa ChampionFuture Salsa ChampionFuture Salsa Champion

Someday soon...
Day 19 - Dancing Without the Stars
September 22, 2008

Today we had a test in Spanish class. But after that, we spent the last hour and half learning to dance with a dance teacher our professor brought in. We learned the basics to merenge, salsa, and cumbia. It got really hot in that room and I was sweating like crazy, but it was fun.

I went for a run for the first time in forever today, I want to get back into the habit. I feel so much better when I run and work out. I think Ticos were taken aback by the blond white kid with short shorts running through their town.

Tonight I went to my first dance class. 5 classes for $22 isn’t bad at all. Learned more merenge, salsa, but also learned swing. Swing here is slightly different than in America, but I LOVE the swing here - it’s basically how everyone was dancing at the Reel Big Fish concert at Warped Tour at the Gorge. It was a really fun class. It’s actually kind of nice to DANCE. What I’m learning is DANCING, not the filthy crap that way too many Americans call “dancing.” This dancing is much more fun, more sophisticated, more difficult, requires more skill, is more artful than just bumping and grinding to way too much bass. Also, if I’m ever a sports coach, especially soccer, my kids are going to have to take dance classes. Yup.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb