I'm here!


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Costa Rica136Costa Rica136Costa Rica136

Goodbye Miami!
I made it here in San Jose a few hours ago. What a culture shock! I feel REALLY out of place walking down the street, and buying things, etc. In fact, this keyboard is in "Spanish Mode," so it took me a while to find the right buttons for apostrophes and stuff. It was a mad house as I left the airport, with all these taxi drivers trying to get me to go with them. It was scary at first, but I found the right taxi, and I was off to San Jose. The great thing about Costa Rica is that the people are very patient and understanding, as they obviously know that my Spanish is very bad. I now know how non-English speakers feel when they come to visit. I first meet the peole on the tour at 7 tonight, as we are going to dinner together. Then it's another early evening, as breakfast is served at 6:15!





Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Costa Rica137Costa Rica137
Costa Rica137

We flew over Key West on the way down.
Costa Rica138Costa Rica138
Costa Rica138

We also flew over Cuba. The flight from Miami to San Jose was about 2 hrs 45 min.
Costa Rica139Costa Rica139
Costa Rica139

Here's Costa Rica from the air.
Costa Rica143Costa Rica143
Costa Rica143

I turned on the TV, and Backstreet Boy's "Backstreet's Back" was on Spanish VH1. Throughout the trip, I was lucky to find lots of English channels with Spanish subtitles.
Costa Rica145Costa Rica145
Costa Rica145

Here's a picture of the room of the first hotel, the Hotel Inca Real.
Costa Rica146Costa Rica146
Costa Rica146

This is the atrium of the hotel.
Costa Rica147Costa Rica147
Costa Rica147

Another picture of the atrium.
Costa Rica148Costa Rica148
Costa Rica148

The roof of the atrium. The sides by the room were open, so the atrium was actually open-air. You could hear the hustle and bustle of San Jose outside.


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb